Son Is Son, Dad Is Dad Yet Mom Is.....

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Thyagarajan, Jun 30, 2018.

1. Thyagarajan

Thyagarajan Finest Post Winner

:hello:SON IS SON, DAD IS DAD YET MOM is.....:hello:

Dad Is Dad, Son Is Son But Mom Is......

Sequel to above link:

He was at ease to complete the day’s routine and tasks; but night after return from get-together of his school old pals - a good mix of genders- he complained about abdominal pain. Immediately rushed him to a nearby popular hospital.

The huge electric wall clock beneath the bluish neon name with reddish plus symbol above the foyer was showing time nearing 11. An attendant in blue uniform welcomed us who was briefed the purpose of our visit . She directed us to proceeded through a lobby to the specialist chamber.

A shining brass plate affixed at the entrance door proclaimed his titles, degrees and membership of foreign med association including FRCS boosted our confidence and hope! We could hear doctor’s soft voice. Soon His PA ushered us in.

When my wife and I started narrating our son’s suffering and pain, the stocky specialist stood up and stopped us in mid sentence and advised in a stern tone “let the boy speak”.

My son pointed his index finger to the site, below stomach, where he had intermittent pain. He also mentioned of his morning roll-push the scooter over the entire flyover.The specialist then asked him to lie down, on the nearby bed and examined him by flexing each of his knees toward his stomach, when son cried of pain.

The specialist told son has “hernia” and that an immediate minor surgery wold set it right.

He dictated to PA who wrote for about two minutes.He advised PA to guide us to complete tests in hospital’s lab and prepare boy for surgery. When asked the cost of tests and surgery, the specialist said including hospitalisation for 3-4 days would be around mind boggling Rs.10 to 15k.

My boy told him that few days from then, he had to appear for university exam (which was a bluff) and wondered whether he can manage with painkiller and tests and surgery could be deferred by a week.

With a frown on his face, the specialist told that in that case he would be inviting risk to his life. All of a sudden, my boy naively enquired him whether hernia would disappear, if he could go for a swim!
    PA laughed at my son’s query, the specialist too guffawed while my spouse and I, were nonplussed and found difficult to cry or laugh.

At that moment, my wife gathered courage to query the doctor, “Sir,without any test how correct it would be - to conclude that the situation is risky? “ He simply said one got to be prepared!

PA to doctor was hastening us to escort boy to the lab. We came out, met a billing clerk to know the tariff for the various tests that the specialist had prescribed. The total charges payable in advance for all the test put together, we were informed, Rs.1500 including the barium meal X- ray. Son questioned the lab technician the need for barium-meal X- ray test. He maintained stoic silence.

My son refused to subject himself to tests. He told barium - a radio active substance ant its radiation harmful to stomach. He whispered that he had a strong hunch that specialist taking us for a ride.
    My wife and I decided to go with son to doctor again and seek some via media. Holding his abdomen and pressing it with fingers as if on harmonium, son was reluctant to go back to specialist.

After enormous persuasion, he agreed and made the PA to go and inform the specialist of our intent.

Little later, we were in the chamber of the specialist. My son started telling him that he would endure the pain till he wrote the exams and the specialist could prescribe pain killer.Halfheartedly the specialist dictated and PA wrote out the prescription with few tablet names.

My wife and I were a lot worried ; son was painfully confident that agony ought to be a minor and stubbornly believed it would subside or vanish on it’s own.My wife and I reiterated that he would invite more complications and great risk in ignoring advice of the specialist but he simply lent a deaf ear.

He told us to buy only one tablet of pain killer.

Wife nudged me to look at son’s hands which were free now! We were worried with his stubbornness. He was insisting that we should at once proceed home.As we got into an auto, my son said that next morning we should seek “second medical opinion”.

I was reminded of my dad few decades ago when, he & I had visited an ENT specialist followed by a consultation with an astrologer.

Next day morning, we three went to another hospital situated in a far suburb. After completing the formality for registering as outpatient, a file folder handed to us and were directed to a floor where a senior doctor with interns discussing a wheel-chaired patient.

There was no brass name plate nor could we know the name of the senior doctor. Before hand, my boy told me in whispering tone, that he would do all the talking and said to us strictly not to speak about previous night episode. While awaiting our turn, we noticed interns and senior doctor were multilingual.

The senior doctor in his great long white apron turned his head with a smile on his face and in a soft tone asked me, “bolo bai. Kiya problem?” (Yes brother. What is the problem?)

As the doctor and interns around were looking at my son keeping his palm over pain site, speaking in halting Tamil, English and Hindi narrating that the pain in abdomen enveloping groin and the painkiller he had previous night.The senior doctor enquired about any visit to gym or swimming diving etc.,

He stated about his previous morning pushing and rolling the stalled scooter over a kilometre long flyover from one end to the other end.

That gave clue to the doctor and probably to the interns. The doctor advised that some exercises need to be done two to three times a day, and that he would feel relief setting in gradually over a period of two to three days; and he should take some precaution.

He had directed two of the interns, to go behind divided curtain with my son to teach the exercise.

My wife & I watched son doing those specific exercises under intern’s guidance. Interns not only demonstrated the way the exercises were to be performed but also corrected as son was performing those exercises.

After learning “how to” of exercises, 20 minutes later son thanked interns and went back to the doctor, shook his hands vigorously thanking him profusely in chaste Hindi, for simple remedial exercise.

As we emerged out of the hospital lobby, son winked at us whispering “second opinion to satisfy mom and you”.

Very next day, we were quite delighted with his progress. On day third, early morning, we were happy to see him off outside foyer veering his scooter to a roar.

My wife and I with him celebrated the night in extravagant dinner concluding with falooda ice cream. Following day, a long term FD for Rs. 10000 in the name of my son was opened with our bankers.

Last edited: Jun 30, 2018
  2. messedup

messedup Platinum IL'ite

These kind of cases make us lose trust on private doctors. You are really lucky that the presence of mind and intelligence has very rightly passed on from one generation to another.

3. Thyagarajan

:hello:Thanks for your maiden feed back in this thread which as usual thought provoking.
    God Bless.

messedup likes this.
  4. kkrish

kkrish IL Hall of Fame

History repeating @Thyagarajan ?
    Makes us lose faith in those who practice a noble profession.

Looking on the bright there are still doctors like the second doctor who are guiding their interns the proper way.

Thanks for sharing. This also helps us to be careful and follow our gut feeling (sorry did not mean to point at your son's pain) and seek second opinions.

5. GeetaKashyap

GeetaKashyap IL Hall of Fame

A second or even a third opinion is a must.:eek:

6. Thyagarajan

:hello:
    @kkrish @GeetaKashyap thanks for your FB.
    THANKS also to @HazelPup for clicking the LIKE OPTION.

2. Recently, The Hindu carried a column of news about corrupt practices in big hospitals and the suit filed by a man for abnormal charges of Rs.14 lac by a GIRGAUM private hospital for his daughter of 12 years for treatment and hospital charges for just 5 days stay. He refused to take the body of his daughter.
    3. A (in) different line of treatment to a senior citizen in very popular hospital AT CHENNAI extracted Rd. 12 lac turned the man a vegetable within a month of his admission later reluctantly disharged by the hospital was cured by a simple treatment at a government hospital in T Nagar Chennai and within few days old man could walk around. His better half pleaded with hospital for a different line of treatment is most happiest lady in West Mambalam.
    4. THE INSURANCE COs and private hospitals seemed to be hand in glove at least in India to loot the patient before giving the passport to HELL.
    5. The roaring business and huge turnover and rewards to the shareholders of Pharma companies establish the fact that many in medical industry are ignoble and are there to mint monies letting the Noble patient to kick the bucket.
    God Bless the patients.

Adharv likes this.
  7. Thyagarajan

:hello::hello::hello: ok but three is said to be crowded two is secret one is egotistic
    2. If SECOND and first opinion remained same, I don't know what my son would have done. I think one must know before hand where to and which hospital or hospitals that good experienced reasonably aged available with reliable ratings.
    3. The ratings for certain famous hospitals in just dial or Google or in hospitals own websites are said to be engineered.
    4. God save the patients from greedy hospitals that fix quota & target for achieving their financial goals.
    5. Doctors of yore got seat on merits irrespective of the caste creed religion and parochial considerations. Therefore the profession in their hands remained noble and safe. Now seats for medical college admission is on biddind and highest bidder get the seat and naturally secured as such bound to produce corrupt ignoble doctor.
    REGARDS.

8. sreeram

sreeram IL Hall of Fame

Appreciate your son's presence of mind and instinct. Also happy that his instinct became true and he was back to normal.

Glad that no third opinion required.

After reading this i was remaindered of a talk between my husband and myself.

Once after meeting his cousin's friend in a get together he told me about this. That friend was making money out of commission that he received from a very reputed hospital for recommending patients from various places with different ailments.

The hospital in a way was doing good by treating poor patients who were supposed to spend in lakhs to get the same kind of treatment in other private hospitals. This particular hospital has treated many patients from different countries who had ailments which could never be treated any where else.

But at the same time they made immense money from people who could afford, in this regard it could have been either really needed (particular treatment which costs more) or it was just for making money.

Normal people are scared to reach any big hospital due to this and the trust worthiness is doubted.

9. Thyagarajan

:hello: Thanks .
    2. This is another extremity to the spirit exhibited in my post.
    3. Charitable minded hospitals and doctors are far and few between and they are known only by word of mouth as they never seek publicity via media.
    4. In India at Chennai we have one at West Mambalam who recently saved a senior citizen by simple treatment. Previously this patient was hospitalised for over three weeks, turned into vegetable after charging their life time savings .
    God Bless.

sreeram likes this.
  10. satchitananda

Glad your son got away from that doctor, Thyagarajan. Such a shame. Unfortunately these kind of doctors bring a bad rap to even the good ones who work day and night - no matter whether in private hospitals, govt hospitals or private clinics - and to those who use their free time working at free health camps.

kkrish and Thyagarajan like this.