1. Handy Kitchen Tips that You cannot Miss : Solutions for all your Problems

Time management - cooking, cleaning, and exercise

Discussion in 'Spotless Kitchen' started by kkrish, Apr 22, 2012.

1. manjukps

manjukps IL Hall of Fame

My Updates:
    Just giving synopsis of past few days.
    As you all know my movement is very slow, I felt ridiculous. Was doing all regular chores and maintenance. Usually any ailment I consider that a separate entity, I leave it at its course and I do things which interests me. But last few days of leg pain had restricted my movement of walking even inside the house as well climbing as our house is a duplex. Anyhow dh and kids were understanding and did what they could to help me.

Had two get to-gathers with two sets of friends, one in city another locally. The local meeting was with my school mates of same batch 6 of us with 4 daughters. Kids also had a good time. After those enjoyable meetings got some moral boost to kick start my routines again.

Following are few renewed resolutions.
    Alas! My maid didn’t come for 5 days now, but found that my kitchen counter and sink are always clean since I wash the dishes as soon as one set is drained.

Divided upstairs bathroom into two zones and cleaned it thoroughly on two consecutive days. Made it a point to do it regularly with one or two day’s gap in between. Since maid used to wash dishes in the bathroom downstairs she gives final sweep there.

Load washing machine everyday as far as possible. Could excuse only on the days we are going out early or if the clothes already hung have not yet dry.

Made it a point that I don’t dump the dried clothes. Folding it immediately as soon as I take it in. since I have shaded balcony, hanging clothes even during rainy day is not a problem, just it takes more time to dry.

My routines with some stretches here and there is as follows:

5 AM – wake up, brush, refresh.
    5.15 AM – keep milk in induction with timer on. Start cooking as per the menu plan.
    5.45 AM – DH wakes up DS, come down, will give his coffee (on holidays, he wakes up early and make coffee for both of us). Either myself or DH open the front door keep the garbage outside the gate (the garbage picking person(gpp) from municipality and milk man(mm) give me the early morning inspiration. Rain or shine gpp comes between 5.45 to 6 AM, mm depending on the time of milk van arrival).

At 6 ds after his bath wakes up dd, . She after refreshing (will give their chocolate milk to both) practice music for half an hour to 45 min, then attend to her any pending home-work or study then arrange her bag with the days’ time-table.

6.20 to 6.35AM – pack breakfast and lunch for DS, keep it near his bag. Switch on the motor, sweep and sprinkle water at the entrance start putting kolam before DS leaves at 6.30AM. He will be dropped at station by dh. Will get into kitchen to do little organising of putting back the storage containers, keep the lunch boxes for dd and dh ready.

6.40 to 7.15 AM – DH will be back, he attends to watering plants once in two or three days, pluck flowers for pooja. I go up, switch on the heater, water the plants in terrace, pluck flowers once in two or three days (been getting ladies fingers at least to put in sambar, there are 4 tomatoes to be plucked for the first time). Fold the dried clothes. Switch off heater, while water is filling up in bucket, give a quick wash to the wash basin and toilet. Take bath, wash daily wears of mine with detergent. Use this water to wash bath room floor, then with fresh cold water. Hang the clothes for drying before coming down. Dd will be ready to take bath by this time.

7.15 to 8.20 AM – Sweep and wipe the pooja room, put kolam, light the lamp. Pack lunch bags for dh with a fruit / veg salad /snacks and with water bottle, snacks, towel, spoon for dd along with lunch. Some of the days I do the remaining chapathis / dosa at this time. Earlier I would have made only for ds’s b/f or lunch. The main lunch and b/f will be same for all. Keep the lunch bags in the living room, transfer remaining food in smaller containers, keep it on dining, clean the stove and counter top and a quick wipe to induction stove, mixie, coffee filter, water filter and microwave (all these gadgets on counter top). Quick wash the lighter vessels like which I used for making coffee, tumblers etc., clean the sink. By this time dd would have taken bath, tell her prayers, will have some relaxing time till 7.50, have her b/f (bit slow in that).

8.20 AM to 8.45 AM
    – by 8.20 I will start combing and plating her hair even if she is eating (if she has finished, she will roll the ribbon neatly while I plat). After b/f she will put on her shoes, I have to help her pinning dupatta. By 8.40 we go out to wait for the van. Mostly by 8.45 she will be picked up.

8.45 to the time DH leaves to office – by this time he would have taken bath and doing the pooja / having b/f (some days he leaves early, even earlier than dd). After his pooja, we both will have b/f (if he is leaving late, I alone have). He gets ready, mostly by 9.30 he leaves. On the days he leaves early I do the whole pooja or I tell my regular slokas and have my b/f

9.30 to 10 AM – I make calls to my mil first, then to mom, then sil (at least weekly once) then to any relatives / friends or make any service calls if needed. While talking I arrange all scattered things the entire ground floor. Have my second cup of mini coffee. If any outside work planned I leave at this time and will be back before 12.30. Recently On Fridays by 10.30 I leave, pick up mom and go to Amman temple. I have scheduled major veggie shopping while returning by 11.30. Alternately I buy veggies and fruits while picking up ds in the evening.

10 AM to 12.30 – make the bed if not done my dh (though we both insist that kids should fold their blankets), clear any scattered things, then sit for doing crafts or sew.

12.30 to 2.30 pm – Have my lunch, clear dining table, browse, see tv while my maid do her chores (she sweeps daily, mop two days in week ground floor and first floor on different two days, wash dishes put in the bathroom, hang clothes to dry. Any extra load I will do it). If needed to grind, I put urad just before lunch, then rice, clean the grinder, wipe, put back in its place while clearing dining /browse.

2.30 – 3.30 pm
    – take a nap of 10 to 20 min depending on the work I was doing. Continue the craft or sewing (go to parlour may be once in 3 or 4 months or attend to personal grooming when needed. Colour my hair once in a month on 5[SUP]th[/SUP] day of my periods as I would have taken head bath on 4[SUP]th[/SUP] day )

3.30 – 4.00 pm – Browse for some time, or start doing some filling tiffin like chapathi, dosa, dokla etc. Weekly once I buy bakery items. Will maintain a stock of biscuits, bread or something homemade etc for their in-between study munches.
    4 – 5.30 pm – DD arrive at 4.10, will hear her non-stop chattering about the day at school, by 4.50 will pick up ds, go little early if I need to buy any grocery / veggie / fruits. Serve tiffin, have my coffee. Arrange the dried vessels in the cup boards.

5.30pm – 8.30 / 9 pm – On the days of music class (weekly twice) leave by 5.30, return by 7.30 pm. While waiting at music class right now I am crocheting a shawl (this I do only in the class). Give milk if they had not had it in the evening. On other days, refresh relax, dd practices music till 6, then light lamp all will tell slokas as much each ones time permits, by 6.15/ 6.30 kids will start studying. Help both kids in their studies like asking questions or clearing doubts. My son just needs my company to sit with him.

8.30 / 9 pm to 10 / 10.30 pm – we all have dinner, mostly curd rice or something different from evening. DH arrives sometime between this time, serve him our evening tiffin, if dosa, will make it fresh, idli / chapathi side dish I would have stored in hot pack. Will wash all the lunch boxes. Kids will continue studying or will be their relaxing time. Watch tv or play games in computer.

After dinner I plan for next day’s menu depending on the available veggies, if the veggie suits prior chopping, I do it, keep ready the things for grinding like chutney or for kootu etc., fry dry ingredients if needed. After hubby had his dinner, clear dining wash lighter utensils, others put in a tub, hubby helps to carry to the bathroom.

By 10.15 we call it a day, go up, I insist dd to go to bed by 10. DS may be studying or do the writing work till he completes. I keep company till ds is awake, hubby will be watching tv 11 or till he dozes off.

When my in-laws stay with us my schedule will differ. Morning after bath I need to do another course of cooking with regular stuff (rice, dhall, sambar / kuzhambu, rasam, veggie). As you all know they are very orthodox, I need to follow some restrictions in cooking like no onion, garlic, masala etc. if I am including this, I need to do something for them alone. My fil takes care of pooja, does it elaborately, but he himself sweep and wipe pooja room even put kolam very early before his bath. I make sure my mil don’t do much work at least on the days she is here. Fil have his brunch by 10.30, so my morning schedule will be different, I prefer grinding, browsing etc in the morning session itself and keep myself occupied with crafts in the afternoon.

Waiting to get over the foot pain to re-start at least walking in treadmill around 10 or while giving company when kids are studying in the evening.

Hi Shara

Hope your packing goes on as per your plan.

Manjukps

2. veeramachaneni

veeramachaneni Platinum IL'ite

Hi Girvani nice to know that you had fun with kids at the beach and u r able to work out during the day by climbing the stairs.

Hi Manju hope u feel better soon. Even with leg pain u did so many things. I liked ur resolutions.

Hi Kamala, Jenkins flora, mahesaran - how r u doing?

Monday : woke up had coffee packed box helped dd to get ready.

She cried today saying she wanted her mommy to drop her at school . I said ok and went to drop her at her school. i went late to work reached home back at 6:30 pm

Dh fed dd and I cooked paneer capsicum tomato curry

Read to dd and played with her until she is tired.
    P

3. mahesaran

mahesaran IL Hall of Fame

Hi all, busy from Friday...
    Will update and read the post in detail tomorrow...

4. SoundVijay

SoundVijay Gold IL'ite

Hai all,

I am slowly recovering from my illness. My pain in my foot is still hurting me. Not able to walk properly. Taking tablets for the ulcer in my mouth. Started going to office and i have put down my papers yesterday. Now serving my notice period which is for 2 months. Now gotta look out for another job after staying at home for a month :). Would keep updating you all.

Hai all nice to know about all your updates.

Manju Mam: Its really nice to see all your updates. You r a great inspiration to all of us. Your time management is awesome :). The great thing about you is the time you get up :) 5 Am:bowdown

5. veeramachaneni

veeramachaneni Platinum IL'ite

Hi Mahesaran - How are you?

Hi Sound - Glad to hear that you are recovering well. For mouth ulcers try B complex too. They also work well , I also drink buttermilk for mouth ulcers.

keep updating us :)

Hi Kamala - How are you doing?

Hi JeniFlora , Manju , Geervani - How are you all doing?

My Routine On Tuesday :

I woke up with a Bad head ache and not a great day to start with.

Had coffe did pooja , Grabbed my Cereal while going to work

Didn't help DH with getting DD ready to school or anything

At work I felt terrible I took 2 tylenol pills and worked till 5

At 5 I thinks The pills power wore off and I had my Head ache again. I work 45 mins away from home one way so at this point I was debating should I ask DH to come pick me up or should I just go home.

I just decided to Drive back home. After going home I puked 4/5 times and DH gave me rice mixed with Rasam and I just ate some of it. Took Advil and Slept around 8 pm.

What a terrible day. I am glad it was over. Today I am feeling So much Better. Thank God.

I really didn't get anything done on Tuesday.

6. girvani

girvani Platinum IL'ite

Dear all
    how are you all doing. Hope sound and veeramachenani, you both feel better soon.
    I am approaching the weekend. Friday and Saturday are off for us in Qatar! The week had gone better. I tried to do small activities in between work. AND we are having RAIN in Doha!!!!! So beautiful and air is fresher. Remember we only get few days of rain per year. Absolutely loving it
    have a blessed day
    Vani

7. mahesaran

Hi KK mam, Happy that you enjoyed and chatted with the relatives in your bil's house...
    Thanks for your compliment about the food pyramid... After incorporating this only i started loosing weight... so i am following all the food groups daily....

Hi Manju mam.... i am really admiring you... what a time manangement yar..... I am Happy that you are having some helping hand from you hubby...
    Get to gethers with school mates..really it would be nice as i had enjoyed it....
    Hi Soundarya, take care your health
    Hi jeni.. thanks for asking me ... I am fine and how are you doing?
    Hi Priya, I am fine and i am busy with guests... Take care of you health..
    Hi Shara... hope you are busy in packing...
    Hi Vani.... nice that you are trying to include some activities...

My days are moving as usual. I am busy cooking 3- 4 times a day because of guest

Yesterday made 7 cup cake for the first time. it came out very well and my son liked it very much.
    Other than that same home chores and cooking...

Last edited: Nov 21, 2013
  8. kkrish

kkrish IL Hall of Fame

Hello ladies

Hi Manju - Hope your leg pain gets better soon.
    Your daily routine is so inspiring. Can you please give the link in the Sticky thread?
    Hi Priya - Sorry to hear about your bad Tuesday. Hope you are better now.
    Hi Sound - How is your health now? Take care. Best wishes for your job search in getting a job that you will enjoy.
    HI Vani - nice to see you incorporating exercise in between your office work. Hope you get more time with your children.
    Hi Mahesh - send some of the 7-cup cake to my home. When I visit bangalore next time I am going to come to your home to taste the wonderful meals you make.
    I have been busy getting ready for my children's arrival home for Thanksgiving - decluttering mainly.
    The past six months life has been tossing me up and down I was just riding on the waves of emotions.
    Thanks to the approaching holidays I am triggered to pay attention to the home details.

Last Saturday I completed the garage.
    Now I am working on the Guest room and my YS's room.

I finally finished washing all the clothes in my YS room and put them away! When he comes home we'll go through them and donate unwanted clothes.
    Now I have started washing all the comforters.

The past few months my dryer does not work well; after every ten minutes the door opens and stops. So nowadays I air-dry clothes which makes them stiff and then dry them for 10 minutes which softens them. I have asked my husband for a new dryer this Christmas.

Okie ladies! Will post in detail soon. Am late for work. I woke up at 4 am then went back to bed hoping to get just one more hour sleep. When I opened my eyes it was 5:45. So it is rush, rush.
    Have a great day!
    Take care all.

9. mahesaran

KK mam, you are most welcome. I am always happy to cook. So whenever you are visiting Bangalore, we are ready to treat you.

Good that you finished cleaning...

10. anupamag

anupamag Gold IL'ite

Hello friends,
    I was reading all your posts everyday but could not post, enjoyed reading all the details. My day to day life is as usual. Mornings, get DD ready and board her in school bus and leave for my classes. Come back home at 12.30, have lunch, check mails, browse some internet, and nap for an hour, evening after DD arrives, listen to her school stories, give her snacks, and some cartoon time, then prepare dinner, have dinner with DH and DD whilst watching Big boss 7-saath, cant miss it even for a day, it is so addictive. Then go to bed.
    This week hubby is on business trip to Paris and will be back on Sat. Missing him so much. Its getting colder here, 3-4 degrees throughout the day and mornings while DD leaves its 0 to -2. It might snow anytime soon, DD is so excited and waiting for it. Everyday morning when I wake her, she asks me, did/will it snow today?

What are your plans for Christmas holidays? We are planning to go somewhere south, maybe Spain/Italy, any suggestions are welcome pls.