1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Why judgemental statements?

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by harinisripada, Aug 25, 2009.

1. harinisripada

harinisripada Gold IL'ite

Dear ILs,

I am in my early 30s with DH, DS- 5 years and FIL-85 years old... I am an engineer + MBA with a high-flying career for 10 years, but had to resign 2 years back once my FIL fell ill, son came to school age and I got sciatica...

So, for the past 2 years in addition to FILs special needs and my health issues, I do the following things (mostly from home!)

(I have never mentioned at IL because we mostly share with IL things that bother us!!)

1. Raise money from the internet public for free heart surgeries performed by philanthropic doctors
    2. Build a market to get donations for special schools who take care of orphans and children with special needs
    3. Educate a few kids who cannot afford to get educated otherwise.
    4. Take weekly value education classes for children (because nowadays even grandparents dont have time to tell children stories and slokams! - they have to get them to do their homework!!)
    5. Healing and counseling for sick people.

All this on a totally non-commercial basis... that is I spend mostly my time, my commuting and my energy and my sleep and my internet bills and sometimes money out of my (my DH's) pocket, and dont expect anything from anyone...

The reactions of friends and relatives is usually -

1. "Wow, what you're doing is great, I couldnt do it because I have loans to repay" - But I too have an outstanding home loan for the next 20 years...
    2. "I would get bored doing these kind of things"
    3. "You are joking, right?" - Why would I joke about these things?
    4. "People who study MBA have really weird ideas on service" - I had these ideas before I did MBA... and these are not weird ideas!!!