Thyroid levels and routine check during pregnancy

Discussion in 'Pregnancy & Labor' started by Kunthavai87, Jan 6, 2015.

1. Kunthavai87

Kunthavai87 Senior IL'ite

Hi,

I am 31 weeks pregnant now. I am diagonised with hypothyroidism even before pregnancy. During my 28 weeks blood test, they told that my thyroid levels have shooted up to 3.9. The last time the test was done at 12 weeks and it was normal(2.3).After 12 weeks, at each visit, we asked the doctor to check the thyroid levels and they told that it is unnecessary as it was normal last time...But, at 28 weeks the levels came as a shock to us...Now, they increased my dosage from 88 to 100 mcg and told they will test back at 36 weeks.

My issue is, for 16 weeks in a row, my thyroid levels were not tested and I m really bothered as it is related with the brain development of the baby...I am new to USA and not sure of how routinely they check for thyroid levels during pregnancy...because, I heard that in India they use to check the levels each 4 weeks...

I am having sleepless nights thinking about its ill effects to my baby...Blaming myself that I would have pressurized them to test or would have changed the practice...Anyone undergone the same? How often do they check thyroid levels in India and what is considered as normal range?I heard during pregnancy, the TSH range should be within 2.5. Please help.

Last edited: Jan 6, 2015

2. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

Usually the thryroid levels are checked every 6-8 weeks during pregnancy. Every 4 weeks is not a bad idea especially if you already diagnosed as hypothyroid.
    Are you going to an endocrinologist?
    Go to another doctor if you are not confident in the one you have now.

3. JigsSM

JigsSM Silver IL'ite

Hi,