1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

The Critical Stages of a Lawyer's Life

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Navaljee, Sep 26, 2008.

1. Navaljee

Navaljee Senior IL'ite

[​IMG]

FIRST STAGE

In those days I was a novice among the crowd of lawyers. My collegues, the men with hidden smile and greying hair, and the women with hidden smile and dyed hair, were yet a decipherable lot for me. And as they all remained wrapped in black outfits, I was unable to identify them as either friends or foes. My heart was sinking on thinking that I was to be opponents to all those ladies and gentlemen in blacks.

My well-furnished office and the books, evething purchased from my hard savings, were yet to see the face of first client. At the end of first week I had one. He must have been sent by one of my friends.

He was a man of twenty-five, and looked as a young man in despair would look: staring at everything, eyes unblinking, and the perspiration irregular.

Before he settled in a chair, before I asked him anything about his legal purpose, he spoke hurriedly, “Sir, I want divorce from my wife. Can you help me?”

[​IMG]

At the moment I felt as if I am a grocery trader and the ‘Divorce’ was on my selling list.

After gulping a full glass of water he belched his story. It was short and partly unbelievable. He said he really did not know why he was living with his wife. An usual husband and wife tussle.

From his talks I could gather that the guy had a wrong upbringing. His parents were responsible for his line of thinking, perhaps. Being only issue of his parents when he demanded bicycle, his parents gave him; when he demanded bike, the parents gave him; when he demanded a wife, the parents gave him. Now he demanded divorce. He had no experience of hearing ‘no’.