1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Spiritual Balance Sheet

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Viswamitra, Jul 4, 2012.

1. Viswamitra

Viswamitra Finest Post Winner

[JUSTIFY]I am being a Chartered Accountant by profession; I have a tendency to evaluate everything in terms of value. Once in my quest for finding more about spirituality, I contemplated more about the value of spirituality in our day to day life. In my contemplation, I figured out that spirituality should not be viewed in life as something that we need to pursue in addition to whatever we do in life and as a matter of fact, it should form part of our life. Our pursuit of passion we have in life, our relationship with our family members, friendships, construction of our own character, attitude, ability to handle pleasure and pain, decision-making, procreation and many other activities we do in our life should be a bye-product of our spiritual development. In simple terms, the spiritual quotient could be measured only in qualitative terms and not in quantitative terms as we do in case of intelligence quotient.

If we visualize a Statement of Income, Balance Sheet and Statement of Cash Flow forming part of a financial statement, we have positive and negative Karma determining the quality of our spiritual quotient and our objective to net some positive Karma in each life that could be carried over to the Balance Sheet. Similar to Balance Sheet, we do have liabilities and assets and our objective is to create a positive net worth or equity in our life that could be carried forward beyond one life time. Very similar to our objective to have a positive cash flow, our objective in spiritual life is to do more selfless actions that would be for common good of our fellow beings than selfish actions that would use up our net worth.