Raagas,Krithis and Raga based Film Songs

Discussion in 'Music and Dance' started by Sriniketan, Jul 16, 2007.

1. meenakshirajan

meenakshirajan Silver IL'ite

Re: Compiling of Raagas or Raagams

Dear Aarthi,
    Thank you. I may not be able to help you in giving the lyrics for the song Nada Nada. Our all rounder Shanthi will be able to help you.
    Meenakshi Rajan

2. Shanvy

Aarthi, Do you know somebody other than dikshitar who has used the yathi format.

there are more number of tamil varnams..my daughter has learnt one or two.
    since i am only a kelvignanam i just kind of observe the nuances of music thats all.

regarding the revathi krithi if we could know the composer.maybe we can try..i have not heard of nada nada...sorry..

3. Shanvy

meenakshi,

i am only a kelvignanam yaar.. i learn doing mistakes..and not an alrounder please :hide::hide:

Today i am also humming the same janasammodhini...it is started with karuna sagarane...went to govinda ninna namave..then to koi saagar dil ko behlata nahi and stumbled upon..neela aasmaan...and back to karuna... i don't know if neela aasmaan is janasammodhini.. :rotfl:rotflRant

4. aarthilr

aarthilr New IL'ite

This is a song which I learnt in my school for singing in a song program,so in an informal way, so I dont know the composer.

Also the only songs I know written of yathi style are those of dikshitars..

Thanks,Aarthi

5. Shanvy

aarthi,

I tried to find about the song...asked my fil also..he said may be it was a prayer song, set to revathi, will anyway keep trying...

i also wondered if any body else handled yathi...

6. Shanvy

yesterday afternoon while surfing channels came across this song from Sri Raghavendra...

Aadal kalaiye deivam thandadu...a beautiful piece by kjy...in charukesi.

thoodu selvadharadi-- also is in the same raga

and the other soul stirring song..chinnatayaval in dhalapathi...
    and the evergreen, vasantha mullai polae and manmatha kalaiyei....

all are in the same raga..but sometimes, it is difficult to identify immediately.. i just have to listen it a few times to get an idea..

how do you guys identify...??

krithi's in charukesi - Adamodi Galade - tyagayya
    Kripaya palay sowri - Swati tirunaal..

7. aarthilr

aarthilr New IL'ite

HI Shanthi,

Nice findings, I knew that Aadal kalaiye is Charukesi, but the other songs you mentioned are equally good.

I know there is one bharathiyar song on Lord Ganesha, I think I have learnt the song, but have totally forgotten it.If anyone knows the song pls share..

Aarthi

8. Padmasrinivas

Padmasrinivas Silver IL'ite

Dear Shanthi,

I have never heard Maharajapuram's rendition, can you tell me in which CD or DVD I can find it? I just love Maharajapuram's voice, appadiyae anubhava-vichu paadarappo namma heart-a touch pannidum.

Padma

9. Padmasrinivas

Padmasrinivas Silver IL'ite

The Daru Varnam of Harikeshanallur Muthiah Bhagavathar 'Mathe, malayadhwaja Pandya Sanjathe' in Kamas is one of my favourites.

Padma

10. Shanvy

Hi padma, i don't remember which cd yaar. let me browse through our collection. if i find the song will upload it for you. earlier FIL will try to emulate sirgazhi and maharajapuram..so these songs were like regulars at home.

I love sudha's rendition of this..it makes you visualise....

Last edited: Dec 8, 2008