1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

preschool teacher...............

Discussion in 'Schoolgoers & Teens' started by pretty, Jul 1, 2010.

1. pretty

pretty New IL'ite

hi ilites,
    i need a help.I am a preschool teacher.can anyone pls tell me how to handle difficult parents of playgroup kids who expect a lot from the teachers .and there are some kids who dont even want to come into the school.how to handle such kids?can u tell me any websites where i can get some tips.
    thank u,
    pretty.:)

2. teacher

teacher Platinum IL'ite

HI there,
    I have a few questions for you...

Have these children been attending playschools or play groups before this? How long has it been since school started this academic year?
    Do you have a teaching assistant/aide?

I may be talking through my hat here but since you say preschool, my assumption is separation anxiety. Is that the feeling you get? What exactly do the parents expect? Is it time to confer before/after the school day? Is it interms of what they learn? Is it about behavior?

Either which way, can you use communication notebooks for the parent teache communication? That will give them the opportunity to clear their chest without taking away your planning/prep time.

As for kids, do parents walk them to your class in the morning? If you have an aide, can you leave her with th class while you collect the student (with separationg anxiety) near the gate/or entry area? It is much harder to see parents leave the class...

Have these kids formed friendships yet? Even if it is not a full fledged id, can you go with a peer to pick up the student?