Paintings : Fabric Paintings on Card board, Flower vase & Other

Discussion in 'Paintings' started by prameela, Dec 20, 2007.

1. virajitha

virajitha Senior IL'ite

re: Paintings : Fabric Paintings on Card board, Flower vase & Other

hi prameela

great work...and thanks for teaching...keep going

2. Mubeen

Mubeen Bronze IL'ite

Paintings : Fabric Painting on Saree

hi all, i want to buy a plain saree and do painting on that...what kind of material should i choose apart frm cotton.. kindly advice...

3. vijeta

vijeta Senior IL'ite

re: Paintings : Fabric Painting on Saree

hai friend,
    you buy any material for painting, it is upto your choice . i did paint in the cotton bed sheet. for my kids. they liked it very much. and my cousin did painting in her dress material like polyster mixed cotton. it is also very nice. you can try poonam material in saree for painting. but when you are doing painting keep the embriodery ring compulsory then only the paint will not be spread in all spaces and dry it well when u finished one part then u start another part. ok,:hiya

4. Mubeen

Mubeen Bronze IL'ite

thanks vijeta for the valuable tips.. i am planing to start it next month.... i want to do flower designs with colours like red, pink, maroon, orange etc and leaves with light and dark green shades.. which colour saree would you prefer?

5. rajivenugopal

rajivenugopal Platinum IL'ite

u can buy a gorjette sari 4 painting.i've posted one orange sari, which my daughter ammu did 4 me.

baby pink shade will b a good background 4 these colors.

raji.

6. geeth

geeth Senior IL'ite

Dear mubeen,
    apart from cotton yo can paint in any material. but if you plan to pain on silk material fabric paints for silk material is available separately. but the thing is the paint is very vry light that it doesn't look bright after drying. when i did it was not at all bright. then i painted with normal fabric paints. if any one knows the reason and suggestins are welcome for the same. for painting on silk material with that special paints you have to first put the outline with the liner given along with that (liners in 4 different colors are available) and once it dries then you can fill the inner part of the designs. otherwise the paint spreads all over.

you can even use the normal fabric paints which are in different shades and varieties on silk material too. once done donot forget to iron it at the back side as per the instructions given .

Good luck for your project..

7. geeth

geeth Senior IL'ite

dear mubeen
    light blue colour saree also will work out for your project.
    geeth

8. Mubeen

Mubeen Bronze IL'ite

hello raji.. thanks for the tips.. i appreciate u and ur daughter for the wonderful work ur r presenting.. i really loved all ur posts..!

9. Mubeen

Mubeen Bronze IL'ite

thanks for the advice geeth...

10. virajitha

virajitha Senior IL'ite

nice to note ......lot of info for fabric painting