Opos Help Request

Discussion in 'Recipe Central' started by Caughtinbetween, Aug 12, 2019.

1. Caughtinbetween

Caughtinbetween Gold IL'ite

Hi everyone ,

So i have heard a lot about opos in the past year and follow that fb group of RK . But for some reason I never find enough courage to ask anything there .

I have two prestige non stick pressure cookers . one is small 3.3 litre handi style and other is a big one almost 5 -6 litre straight wide mouth type . So I really dont want to spend on buying that magic pot for now since both the cookers are new , barely used .

I really want to try opos with the small PC .

Kindly help me with the usage . As in how to begin with for an absolute novice. I think it needs some standardization . I would use it on normal 4 burner gas stove you find in apartments here.

Thank you very much for your help.

Thyagarajan likes this.

2. Caughtinbetween

Like for example lesson 1 says heat 1/4c 60ml water in 2l cooker so i scale up and make it 100ml water in
    3.3l cooker ?

Here we need to focus on getting the first whistle in <2 mins ? I mean even with a big 3.3 cooker the whistle should still come at <2mins ? And high flame means completely covering the base ?

Thank you.

Thyagarajan likes this.
  3. joylokhi

joylokhi Platinum IL'ite

I have been cooking with OPOS for nearly 2 years now - some of the recipes come out very well and in afraction of the normal time required. You need not worry overly about the standardisation. Just scale up in your 3.3 litre cooker as suggested by you for the first whistle and mark the time with a stop watch . It is not necessary that the timing should be exactly 2 mins or so. Just ensure that the flame is medium high i.e. it covers the bottom of the cooker completely. Once you time your whistle, for following the recipe, you can calculate the whistles required from the total time given.