1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

My Husband wont stay with my parents when he visits.

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by anjanidevi, Mar 26, 2009.

1. anjanidevi

anjanidevi New IL'ite

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to this group (and to forums in general) and found many of your thoughts, experiences and advice to be very helpful and warming.

So here is my story, I met my husband and soon after got married (4 months) it was a love marriage and not arranged in the least. He also had to move away soon after to complete his education. He also knew that I was helping my parents out financially and could not move away with him to career and financial reasons. We have had a long distance relationship for a couple of years now and we will soon start living together.

Now he is under the impression (with due reason) that my parents are taking advantage of me financially eventhough they are young enough to work or smart enough to scale down their lives and not live lavishly due to my earnings.

My parents have been kind and nice to him and his family and invited him to come and stay at their place wheneve he comes to visit them.

He does not want to do so as he says its against protocol, and I think it might be because he is upset with them due to their value system.
    My parents refuse to come and stay with me and my husband and they think my husband is giving them a subtle message.

i feel like I am stuck between a rock and a corner. Dont know what to do and how to keep everyone happy.

My question and would love some advice - have any of your experience this? is this a cultural/indian men thing to do?

Please help
    Anju

2. asuitablegirl

asuitablegirl Gold IL'ite

Hi Anju,

First let me say WELCOME to Indusladies! Now to my advice...

I would suggest not to make a mountain out of a mole hill. Meaning, don't make this a bigger issue than it is.