1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

My husband hates me. Any tips on how to survive an abusive relationship?

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by froyo, Mar 8, 2014.

1. froyo

froyo New IL'ite

Hi Everyone,

I've been reading this forum for quite a while but this is my 1st post.

I don't even know where to start right now. Leaving isn't an option because I'm totally dependent on him as I am a full time student and will be for the next 1.5 years.

My family while aware of my situation isn't in the position to support me and taking time off from my medicals isnt an option so I've just decided to bear as much as I can.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? How did you manage?

Just a little background: My husband cant seem to let go of anything and when we fight, he brings up fights that happened 2 years ago and drags things out for days at a time. He has never accepted responsibility for any problems we may have and constantly accuses me of starting fights when in fact I am terrified of even sharing my feelings with him because he sometimes erupts out of the blue and will start screaming at me, calling me names etc for something that i've said that he has taken offense to.

If I try and talk to him, he screams, calls me names and if I go near him or so much as put my hand on his to calm him down he will push me, hit me or punch me.

When things are calm he tells me he loves me but if the smallest thing happens, he flips like a light switch and becomes very abusive and stays abusive for days on end but even when he does start talking its clear that he is still holding a grudge.

A couple of months ago, he beat me so badly that I couldn't even move for a couple of days and I still get back aches from that beating.

We don't have sex anymore because he wants me to initiate it in spite of his mistreatment of me.