Modern science and Vedas.

Discussion in 'Jokes' started by nandinii, Apr 18, 2007.

1. nandinii

nandinii New IL'ite

<TT>keeping in mind the earlier doses on science </TT>
    <TT>and modern scientists, there are a few more interesting points.</TT>

<TT>Even with respect to science and technology, </TT>
    <TT>the people of the previous yoga’s were more advanced than us,</TT>
    <TT>as they relied on science as described in the scriptures,</TT>
    <TT>rather than the speculative methodology used by many </TT>
    <TT>modern scientists.</TT>

<TT>There are various sections of the Vedas that deal</TT>
    <TT>with science. (Such as "ayurveda" that deals with medicine).</TT>
    <TT>In the previous yoga’s, we see that flying chariots </TT>
    <TT>(such as the pushpaka vimana) were used. It seems there is section in the scriptures called "Vimana shastra",</TT>
    <TT>that explains how to construct aeroplanes </TT>
    <TT>that run without fuel !!</TT>

<TT>We have heard of warriors such as Arjuna using weapons</TT>
    <TT>such as the "Brahma astra" which were clearly superior to the present day nuclear missiles.</TT>

<TT>There are many such instances where people of the previous yoga’s</TT>
    <TT>used technological means that are clearly beyond the capabilities</TT>
    <TT>of modern scientists.</TT>

<TT>There are also many cases of modern scientists "discovering"</TT>
    <TT>things that were already known in the Vedic times.</TT>
    <TT>For example, modern science believed for a long time</TT>
    <TT>that the earth was flat and realized the truth </TT>
    <TT>(that the earth is round) much later. However, the Vedas</TT>
    <TT>always refer to the earth as "bhu-gol" (round earth).</TT>
    <TT>Similar is the case of plants having life </TT>
    <TT>(which was also already known in the Vedic times)</TT>

Notes: you may be a person who has studied science. Even I have studied science in school and college. Let us try to see what our scriptures have. I can only find more things described in our scriptures than modern science has discovered/invented.:tongue

2. Tamildownunder

Tamildownunder Bronze IL'ite

Hi, nandini,

It is very interesting topic of vedas and science. In 2005, August I gave a talk on this subject in North London's Mill Hill Sai Centre as part of the celebrations of Bhagavan Sathya Sai Baba's 81st birthday. Although they had alotted me 30 minutes it went beyond that since I had lot of material to talk about. I was thinking of posting the lecture that I gave in several parts. Basically I divided the topic into three parts. 1. Archeological evidences. 2. Quotations from several western scientists including many Nobel laurates. and 3. Quotations from the vedas. Your artcle is good. Keep writting.

TDU

3. sathya

sathya Gold IL'ite

hello raman

yaar yaarukku enna enna talent
    irukkumunnu yaar thaan arivaar
    ange cancer research engireer
    inge kavithai ezhudugireer
    mele paranthukondu
    ulagathaye kanmun konargireer
    inge...
    tholaithe theeruven
    enru kappam katti konda
    aangileyaridamirunthu
    konjama michamaanathai
    bathirapaduthi...
    irukkayil...
    neengalo lecture e panna..
    athai kathaiyay solla
    ketka naangal kadamaipattirukkirom...
    anal enna konjam chinna chinna
    write uppaa..
    engalukkum puriyara maathiri...
    viayakka vaikkum ulagamada saami...

sathya

4. Tamildownunder

Tamildownunder Bronze IL'ite

Dear Satya,

Ungalathu paaratukaluku nari. Naan President Abdul Kalam in follower. Avar oru periya vigyani mattumalla oru sirantha kavingar, tamil le kavithaikal ezhuthi avai puthakangala kooda vanthirukinrana. Naan oru poor man's Abdul Kalam.

TDU

5. cheer

cheer Silver IL'ite

Dear Nandini,

Very nice inperpretation:2thumbsup: , Yeah that's really true our vedas are really a treasure for us, we just need to learn more abt it.

6. rajmiarun

rajmiarun Gold IL'ite

I love to read Deivathin Kural but find hard at some places where Periaval goes so deeply philosophical. But he has in all his speeches have praised our vedas and compared it to our modern science which make me think "What is not there in Indian tradition"

7. texasguy

texasguy Guest

Its just idiotic ............
    Do you have any idea what Science means ?

I am accepting your challenge and wanna discus your pseudo science ?

Would you ?

8. lotusdevi

lotusdevi New IL'ite

Tamildownunder & nandinii,

Thanks for bringing this topic into picture.

I'm also very much interested in this topic. I use to think a lot about this. But I also feel that why everybody who is talented not giving those lectures in India why are they going to some foreign country and giving lectures? If we make these awareness in India, then Indians protect their belongings right? Because I know that the great treasures of India had been ruined by the foreigners. We didn't get back the kohinoor diamond, we didn't get any part of the medicine suvadi(book) from kalaikottu sithar maamunigal, and there are so many to say....India was rich and it has been made to be poor by some invaders. Every Indian knows this truth.

Even I have travelled into different parts of the world, but I have seen that in the other countries people protect and pursue their ancient belongings. Why not we? Why do we atleast talk in our language in our own country? why do we atleast protect the caves, bridges, temples built by our ancient people? why do we always run after money to do anything for money? Instead of sitting the whole time on the TV, are we ready to spare sometime to build and talk about our cultural values?
    Poeple, think and change to protect your own culture and your own ancient values. Share with all Indians first, so that we all unite together to protect it.

Srivasa ramanujam gave his lectures and papers to the foreign country. what happened? The modern science included his theory in many ways, but how many acknowledged it is due to ramanujam's theory? only few for the sake. Think, if i tell Einstein to anybody in the world, they know who it is. If i ask sombody in the world about ramanujam, how many know it?
    We Indians basically think foreign country is great, living outside India is great(atleast for money sake), when do we think we are the great ones and the rest follows.

Please share your ideas, we also get awareness of this and make India unique. Kindly show us some light on your findings and articles on this.

9. Ambige

Ambige Bronze IL'ite

nandinii,

You are 100% perfect. You said the real thing happened. Even there are so many hidden things, we have to find out our values. Very true.

Tamildownunder,

Please share your values too. We will be happy.