Let us all light Yama Deepam.

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by Chitvish, Oct 17, 2006.

1. goldenangel

goldenangel Senior IL'ite

Hello all

Triyodhasi - 6th nov 3.30 pm to 7th 5.54pm
    chathurthasi - 7th nov5.54pm to 8th 8.23pm
    amavasai - 8th nov 8.23 pm to 9th 10.53pm

We should take the thithi that stays at night.Therefore triyodhasi stays on 6th night so light yama deepam on 6th night , not on 7th as triyodhasi is not there on 7th night.
    Similarly we do lakshmi pooja on 9th as amavasa thithi stays at 6.00pm on 9th nov.
    Happy lighting and happy diwali to all

2. prishen

prishen Bronze IL'ite

Dear Chitra Maami,
    Thanks for the detailed explanation. I understand it better now.
    I would light the Yama Deepam this year and chant the sloka given by you. Once again Thank you for the sincere efforts you are taking to explain us.

Priya

3. Kamla

The days to light the Yamadeepam seems a bit contradictory !! I am now confused.:)
    Dear Chithra,
    Please can you tell as to when you will light the Yamadeepam in India this year?
    Thanks in advance...

4. Malathijagan

Malathijagan Silver IL'ite

Dear Chithra,
    That was really informative. I had not come across this belief before.You seem to have done in depth research in the Hindu scriptures and Puranas.Thank you for providing such information from the depths of the Ocean of our grear scriptures.

5. Chitvish

Dear Kamla,
    Yes, there are some contradictory statements moe because of the difference in the way we observe in South India & North India.
    Wednesday 7 th is thrayodasi & we light yama deepam.
    Thursday 8 th is chathurdasi & deepavali.
    9 the friday is amavasai & Lakshmi puja.

6. Chitvish

Dear Malathi,
    This is a comparatively new practice, we have started observing, learning from our North Indian counterparts.
    Oh, no, M, my knowledge is still "nunippul" !

7. aishu22

aishu22 Gold IL'ite

Dearest Chithu,
    I lit theYama Deepam on Sunday Evening.I sent your post to Amma too and my Patti -in law also told me about this.When i told her, i knew why that was being done after reading your post, she was overly joyed.

Me and Amma also lit the yama deepam this year.

Thanks a lot Chithu..

8. Chitvish

Dear Aishu,
    I am very happy.
    An ILite phoned up to say, she lit a pair for me as well, I almost cried! What more blessing can I ask for in life??

9. taras18

taras18 New IL'ite

Dear Chitra Aunty,

I m a quiet reader of all your post . To be frank I became more religious after reading all your threads . And let me thank you for giving us more and more information which is new to us. And wishing you a good health and may u be able to write more and more .

Please let us know ..this year Deepavali's puja timing and which day to lit yama deepa. All these are new to me ...So this year Im going to do as u have mentioned.

Have a happy Deepavali to you and your family

10. Chitvish

Dear Taras,
    Thanks for your nice words!
    This year Yama Deepam is to be lighted on 15th thursday evening.
    deepavali is on 16th night-17th early morning, saturday.