Learn to forgive................

Discussion in 'Poetry' started by Shanvy, Dec 18, 2007.

1. Ria2006

Ria2006 Silver IL'ite

Very Beautiful one. I think I needed it for myself bonk
    I had been cursing myself for having injured my knee.. I knew deep down.. My poor body didnt scheme for it.. So I guess I will start from forgiving my ownself for landing me in injury.. No one plans.. Bad things happen in life. One should just learn to be more careful.

However your poem reminded me my favorite quote in life.
    When widow of Graham Stains (Australian Missionary, who burnt alive with his two kids in Jeep in Orissa) was asked, if she had authority , what punishment she would like to give Dara (main culprit).. She said.. I will forgive him ...not because he deserves, But because "Forgiveness heals"
    I was amazed and stupiefied to read it. Thats where I got my favority quote "Forgiveness Heals"

2. Shanvy

hi ria,

thanks for stepping in. I actually wanted to write it as a blog...may be later..but i feel comfortable while scribbling few lines....

Forgiving heals you....all your anger leaves...the moment you think jaane dho yaar...chalta hai..simple words..but it is the first step towards forgiving....lot of us don't want to take that first step....

3. Vysan

Vysan Gold IL'ite

Dear Shan,

To forgive..... It is a big task... It is easily said than done... When you are hurt, ur emotion speaks... It is the emotion, rather than the logical mind... Time is the only healer...

It takes time to forgive... Again it all depends on how emotionally hurt you are...

To fogive oneself.... I am trying to do that....

4. Shanvy

hi veda,

The moment we start to learn to forgive ourselves, we have started the healing process...

5. pammor

pammor Senior IL'ite

Forgiveness is
    as blue as the pen I'm writing with.
    Forgiveness is
    the most beautiful star
    shining in the dark sky.
    Forgiveness is
    all over the world.
    U can hear "I forgive U"
    in Asia, France and everywhere in the world.
    Forgiveness is
    always in my heart.
    When I forgive,
    I feel like I burst into a flame of strong friendship.
    Forgiveness is
    the sound of claps of joy when U forgive someone

Hi shanvy,
    How is your health? I read many replies enquiring abt your health.May The godess Durga Devi whom I am praying every day come to your help to pass thru the pains comfortably.
    That was a nice poem indeed.
    Regardsw,
    Pammor.

6. Shanvy

7. Sriniketan

Very nice one, Shanthi.

I love the last lines which says that those who forgives lives happier, it is true but for those who are forgiven live with guilty---which is a sort of , can I say, punishment for their behaviours!

8. Shanvy

dear sriniketan,

Thanks. without your encouragement would not have tried to scribble more and thanks for tolerating and encouraging me....

9. roopadadia

roopadadia Silver IL'ite

Dear Shan,

You have penned the art of forgiveness in such a beautiful way...it seems very easy.

Even though i try to practice this, i can't do it all the time...sometimes i have this non-chalant attitude of its ok yaar...sut sometimes when the hurt is deep it takes time to come out of it.

Many times the pity is that the other person does not realise how much they have hurt us by their deeds, words & action so even if we forgive them they are not aware of it and they keep commiting the same mistakes.bonkbonk

Hope your health is better now.

Warm regards
    Roopa.

10. Shanvy

hi roopa,

thanks for stepping in. it was easy to pen it than following it. it takes up lot of your emotional energy to come up to forgiving...

I know the type of person you talk, maybe hurting others is an inherent qualit y in them...

Thanks for asking..i am still on treatment...have a long way to go....