1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Kamalji's Teachers - Wonderful and kind

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Sep 5, 2007.

1. Kamalji

Kamalji IL Hall of Fame

Kamalji's Teachers - Wonderful and Kind​

I studied all the years of School at "Our Lady of Perpectual Succour High School",Chembur,Mumbai.We used to start from KG, to the first.We did not have these preps,that they have now.And matric was 11th Std.So we had 12 years of studying in the same school.Iread somewhere that Anil Kapoor and Boney also studied there,so i was in August company i suppose, though i never met them.

My expierence with teachers was very good.No dont get me wrong,I never flirted with them, i was a kiddie,and i am ashamed they saw me in nickers.What a sight i must hve been.In the 8th, we had Mrs.Saldhana, our Chemistry teacher.She taught us how to remember Valencies of the elements,as these used to fox me.I still remember most of them,and taught my daughters.

She taught us how to do the chemical reactions between two compounds,and how to balance the equations, so well, i used to get most of them right.For example NaCl + Mg0 .This is how she explained to us.A compound has a metal and a non metal.The first is the metal ( Na ), clorine is the non metal (cl).Same is the case with Mg0.Assume the metal is the husband and nonmetal the wife.

The husband of the first compound will run away with the wife of the second compound,and vice versa, and lo ! we have the equation ready.We were small, but we were laughing at her explanations.And it stuck in our heads.So i was decent in Chemistry.Once i was sick,and missed school for a few days.I went to her house,and she explained to me what i had missed,free fo charge,and gave me tea and biscuits.How the hell can i ever forget it,looking at most of the teachers today,she was a gem.God bless her.