1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

IT work culture in india.....

Discussion in 'H4 Indian Ladies' started by revathia, Dec 31, 2009.

1. revathia

revathia New IL'ite

am sure many of the h4 ladies here would have worked back in IT company..
    i actually did my masters here in US and working here for the past 7 yrs,..now planning to return to india for good..as i got a offer with a IT company..
    since i never worked in india,
    please let me know how is the work culture in IT companies in chennai,

1, will there be too many politics.
    2, are the deadlines tight.
    3. how is the infrastructure like here in US..do we get flexibility like work from home etc etc
    4, overall ,,how is the work culture compared to here in USA..

2. sreyaallari

sreyaallari Bronze IL'ite

Hi revathia
    I'm a software professional for 5 yrs in chennai, India. and I love the work environment here.
    To answer your questions
    1. There will not be too much of politics that one cant manage...... We can work out different strategies to overcome. In any workplace in India we have some kind of politics and in Software field also it is there to some extent only.... :thumbsup
    2.The deadlines are not always rigid. Depends on what type of project you are put in. Whether development/prod support.
    3.There are options to work from home, unless the client specify some remote networks to connect to for security purpose.
    4. i think its pretty much the same....... with fellow Indian faces to look at(which I personally prefer).... :wink::wink:

3. pandusk

pandusk Gold IL'ite

Hi Revathi,

Politics is there everywhere and more in India :). Regarding work pressure when there are deadlines it is more as we need to meet the project release dates no matter if you are a developer or tester, it is the same.

And we tend to work long hours and even weekends, no time for personal life :rant.

Based on my work experience these are my views.