1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Is God the best programmer ever?

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by BharadwajThiru, Jun 30, 2013.

1. BharadwajThiru

BharadwajThiru Silver IL'ite

As a computer programmer, I have written a lot of code over the years. As described in Outliers, I have had over 10,000 hours of coding experience, which, I guess, makes me an outlier!

As I look at all the coding I have written, I realize that a lot of it has to do with defining consequences when certain conditions are met. Initially, coding started out in a single dimension. Either something was “off” or it was “on”. It was all binary. As it began to evolve we introduced the “If.., then.., else” clauses and then moved on to “Case statements”, that could deal with multiple conditions. Over time, we introduced Time to our coding. We all remember the Y2K era, when every company was scrambling to avoid a catastrophe! With the advent of mobile devices we have now started to code based on location, GPS, Near Field Communication and geo fencing introduced code that would behave differently based on where we were! If we consider the backward compatibility of operating systems and other software, we are looking back to prior generations. Looking back we have now moved from a single dimension to perhaps the 6th dimension.

Comparing this to life, we all know that life defines consequences for the choices we make. Is it possible then, that Life is really a huge program that considers even more dimensional coding? Could it be an infinite loop of “nested if statements”? We have perhaps not discovered the most intricate loops and that explains the new discovery in medicine and other fields to this day.