1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

India's Obsession Over The Western Culture

Discussion in 'Interesting Shares' started by Thoughtful, Aug 25, 2022.

1. Thoughtful

Thoughtful Gold IL'ite

2. Thoughtful

Thoughtful Gold IL'ite

3. Thoughtful

Thoughtful Gold IL'ite

On an unrelated note, I have had trouble telling my non-tamil speaking Indian friends on why Modi shoving hindi down tamil nadu's throat is an unpardonable sin. What Macaulay did to India with English and what Modi is trying to do to tamilians with hindi is not very far off.

4. Rihana

Rihana Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

That Macaulay quote in post #2 is false and propagated by Whatsapp University. Here's the original minute by Macaulay.
    Minute on Education (1835) by Thomas Babington Macaulay (It's long. I skimmed through it. Points 10, 33 and 34 relate to the false quote)

[10] I have no knowledge of either Sanscrit or Arabic. But I have done what I could to form a correct estimate of their value. I have read translations of the most celebrated Arabic and Sanscrit works. I have conversed, both here and at home, with men distinguished by their proficiency in the Eastern tongues. I am quite ready to take the oriental learning at the valuation of the orientalists themselves. I have never found one among them who could deny that a single shelf of a good European library was worth the whole native literature of India and Arabia. The intrinsic superiority of the Western literature is indeed fully admitted by those members of the committee who support the oriental plan of education.