IDEA Star Singer on Asianet

Discussion in 'TV' started by manjumnair, Sep 8, 2007.

1. Eljaype

Eljaype Bronze IL'ite

Dear All,

I just saw this thread. I also watch ISS very seriously, the only programme I see and like in a TV. I felt very bad at having missed this thread from the first

I tried Surya program, and also the tamil, hindi ones since I like Music very much.
    I didn't like any of them.
    Gandharva Sandhya or something like that I am not sure in Kairali TV, one boy sang 'Antha Arabi Kadaloram' from Bombay . That was very nice. Did any of you watch that? Last weekend I think it was telecast.The Judges were Srinivasan, Anuradha Sriram and Johnson Master. All of them were stuck dumb at the boy's performance. I have not seen that program before.

About SMS in the ISS, they are taken just for the proof of the popularity of the show, I heard. They'll be used to value the popularity of the contestants also.
    And that too the coffers of the ISS are rising because of these SMSes. They get 5Rs out of Rs 6 we give for each SMS. The telephone people get only Re1 for each SMS.

So, see you later
    Latha:wave

2. imemyself

imemyself Senior IL'ite

Meena..ur right...the participants sometimes do not improve in their singing but are inproving in their performance!
    Najim was one of the contestant who had highest scores from the beginning and this time I guess Vani took that place...as she had score a whooping 76...!
    Same way...Lakshmi Jeyan was out of the competition beciase she was good performer than a good singer!!
    Among all I think Amrutha Suresh and Krishnajith has improved the singing and their personality!!
    Well..these are just my views!

And Latha,
    Yes...I do watch the Kairali T.V pgme ..though not regularly!! and i think they have a good standard and it is not commercialised as much as ISS.It is nice to see the young budding singers competing!!And ofcourse the panel of judges are also good!\

Manju,
    So...our SMS queries have been clarified right!!

Jaya

3. Eljaype

Eljaype Bronze IL'ite

Dear Jaya,

We can any way guess if we think a little bit, that SMS cannot decide anything.
    They think we can be fooled. I have a forward which a friend sent to me about this. One unnamed contestant giving out all the details, a behind the screen story.
    If youl ike I can send it to you.
    Latha :wave

4. imemyself

imemyself Senior IL'ite

Hi Latha,
    From the beginning I had doubts abt this SMS factor...! And so..I have never sent any SMS for this or for any other contest which says SMS is a deciding factor.Infact in yday's Kairali Gandharva Sangeetham programme their was a participant Ramanand.He is one of my Dad's friends grandson.My Dad is in bangalore on a business trip and he called me yday and told me to watch that programme and send an SMS for that kid.I appreciate his performance but then I told my dad that SMS is not a deciding factor and I dint send it either.I have seen that kid's performance in one of our Maloo Association get together's and he does sing well.
    Its up to the judges and I also believe that there is a lot lobbying involved in these kind of contests.Well..as u said once we enter the contest we will know all the behind the camera actions:-D

And Latha,I very well would like to read the fwd u mentioned abt.

Rgds,
    Jaya

5. manjumnair

manjumnair Silver IL'ite

Hi Latha,

Even I would like to read the fwd u mentioned. I don't send sms for any program. I watch ISS regularly...that's all...

Yes Jaya, our queries about the sms is answered...

Today's Performances :

Theme Round :
    Vijay - 65... scored less may be because he didn't have much background decorations..This is a theme based round..

Varun - 68... even with colourful decorations he could score 68 only...

Jugalbandhi Round:
    Roshan and Rithvik sang together in this round..I think Roshan improved in this round... Roshan scored 67 and Rithvik - 61....

6. meenu

meenu Bronze IL'ite

hi latha,
    I would like to read the forward too.
    meenu

7. Eljaype

Eljaype Bronze IL'ite

Hi Jaya, Manju and Meenu,

Here is the forward You all asked for .

When you go through this you'll start just hating all these Reality Shows.

After this I googled Idea Star Singer and found many blogs

I'll give you all those sites also if you want.

A True Story of all Reality shows

[​IMG]<script><!-- D(["mb","\n\n \u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>*\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>This is for Asianet(Malayalam Channel)*ISS viewers. Some of you might have wondered why good singers are going out. They are telling its because of SMS. But actually nothing like that. SMS is a real drama. Last elimination round was shoot almost one month back (I knew the yesterday's eliminated list almost three \n\u003cbr\>weeks back through ISS blogs) but they were asking to send SMS until day before yesterday. Still do you think that ur SMS counted? So this is to inform u that don't send any SMS further. Elimination round drama is purposefully created to promote SMS. (Sending some good candidates out in the name of SMS) \n\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>\u003cbr\>Just forward this mail to as many to stop SMS drama.\u003cbr\>\u003cbr\>If you want to know about the real background play, read following. I copied it from one of the blogs.*\n\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>*\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>Hi everyone... I have been a silent spectator in the forum right from day one... I guess its now time for me to spill out some beans... Pls dont ask \n\u003cbr\>me how I know these info... cant say that atleast for some more days... \u003cbr\>\u003cbr\>Answering to Parvathy question &quot;Anybody has real first hand information? eg: - any audience here who have already attended the elimination show? \n\u003cbr\>Any of the contestants/parents - can you please respond here? Is this true?&quot;\u003cbr\>\u003cbr\>the answer is - the contestants and all staff part of ISS are made to sign legal contracts that refrain them from going public even if they are eliminated. If you guys remember, we had one of the contestant publishing the results of elimination in Orkut but remved it soon. The contestant got away with a strong warning.. Now if the question is about the audience, the answer is there are no audience when eliminations are shot... even if they are shown, its edited... \n",1] ); //--></script>

This is for Asianet(Malayalam Channel) ISS viewers. Some of you might have wondered why good singers are going out. They are telling its because of SMS. But actually nothing like that. SMS is a real drama. Last elimination round was shoot almost one month back (I knew the yesterday's eliminated list almost three
    weeks back through ISS blogs) but they were asking to send SMS until day before yesterday. Still do you think that ur SMS counted? So this is to inform u that don't send any SMS further. Elimination round drama is purposefully created to promote SMS. (Sending some good candidates out in the name of SMS)

Just forward this mail to as many to stop SMS drama.

If you want to know about the real background play, read following. I copied it from one of the blogs.

Hi everyone... I have been a silent spectator in the forum right from day one... I guess its now time for me to spill out some beans... Pls dont ask
    me how I know these info... cant say that atleast for some more days...

Answering to Parvathy question "Anybody has real first hand information? eg: - any audience here who have already attended the elimination show?
    Any of the contestants/parents - can you please respond here? Is this true?"

the answer is - the contestants and all staff part of ISS are made to sign legal contracts that refrain them from going public even if they are eliminated. If you guys remember, we had one of the contestant publishing the results of elimination in Orkut but remved it soon. The contestant got away with a strong warning.. Now if the question is about the audience, the answer is there are no audience when eliminations are shot... even if they are shown, its edited... <script><!-- D(["mb","\u003cbr\>\u003cbr\>Answering your SMS doubts...\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>\u003cbr\>do you guys know each of ur sms cost Rs. 4 to 6 depending on carrier... Out of this the carrier (Idea, Airtel, etc.) charges Rs. 1 and the rest goes to ISS. Cant disclose the no of sms's received so far but the fact is ISS and organisers have struck it rich...Rs. 40 lakhs is small piece compared tothe big pie Quote \n\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>\u003cbr\>Now answering to the doubts on the biased judgements, the answer is the sponsors have a lot of take on this... the strategy is to pick one or 2singers and portray them as favorites... automatically fans of other singers flood in SMSes to keep them going... eventually some deserving candidates turn out to be scape goats and get eliminated...Some even withdrew from competition knowing this... This is a common strategy used in almost all commercial reality shows... actually the concept originated from American reality shows... \n\u003cbr\>\u003cbr\>Well thats ISS for you.. I might be banned for this... but I feel you guys deserved this info...Now let me give you another piece of info... shud be my last... and I deceided to let this out only after seeing some ppl blindly believing on some contestants... \n\u003cbr\>\u003cbr\>You all shud now be thinking SMSs are meant only for adding public support to contestants... but the fact is, they are used to measure the popularity of the candidates.. in marketing, we call this &quot;consumer psychology&quot;... *meaning change the strategy depending on how viewers react to the show... there is something called as Popularity Chart which is drawn for all these contestants...there are various factors which goes into the popularity charts.. \n\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>*\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>",1] ); //--></script>

Answering your SMS doubts...

do you guys know each of ur sms cost Rs. 4 to 6 depending on carrier... Out of this the carrier (Idea, Airtel, etc.) charges Rs. 1 and the rest goes to ISS. Cant disclose the no of sms's received so far but the fact is ISS and organisers have struck it rich...Rs. 40 lakhs is small piece compared tothe big pie Quote

Now answering to the doubts on the biased judgements, the answer is the sponsors have a lot of take on this... the strategy is to pick one or 2singers and portray them as favorites... automatically fans of other singers flood in SMSes to keep them going... eventually some deserving candidates turn out to be scape goats and get eliminated...Some even withdrew from competition knowing this... This is a common strategy used in almost all commercial reality shows... actually the concept originated from American reality shows...

Well thats ISS for you.. I might be banned for this... but I feel you guys deserved this info...Now let me give you another piece of info... shud be my last... and I deceided to let this out only after seeing some ppl blindly believing on some contestants...

You all shud now be thinking SMSs are meant only for adding public support to contestants... but the fact is, they are used to measure the popularity of the candidates.. in marketing, we call this "consumer psychology"... meaning change the strategy depending on how viewers react to the show... there is something called as Popularity Chart which is drawn for all these contestants...there are various factors which goes into the popularity charts..

<script><!-- D(["mb","\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>e.g. region/city which the contestant represent, background of the contestant, and special abilities/disabilities which can draw viewers attention / sympathy, and ofcourse last but not the least, SMS votes... In other words, Judges award marks to contestants depending on where they are \n\u003cbr\>positioned on the popularity chart (in other words how much votes they have received till date) ... if you are at the top, no matter what mistakes you \u003cbr\>do, you still get more marks.. and if you are at the bottom, tough luck... and u get to hear all sorts of critisicm from the judges... ultimately the \n\u003cbr\>contestant receive marks based on the popularity chart and not totally on *their performance... and thats why you see some contestants scoring mor\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>*\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"black\" face\u003d\"Verdana\" size\u003d\"1\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:9pt;color:black;font-family:Verdana\"\>even if their performance in the performance rounds are worse than other better performing contestants... the internal rumour is there are opinion \n\u003cbr\>differences on this concept within the Judges... but for the sake of the show, it remains backstage... Moroever do you guys know how much each of\u003cbr\>the judges are paid to be part of the show... I ll give you a hint, the *host of the show is paid approx 10K per shooting day... so u can guess how \n\u003cbr\>much judges are paid.. so they dont bother even if deserving candidates lose out...\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp style\u003d\"margin-bottom:12pt\"\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"navy\" face\u003d\"Times New Roman\" size\u003d\"2\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:11pt;color:navy\"\>\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003cfont face\u003d\"Times New Roman\" size\u003d\"3\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:12pt\"\>\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\n\n\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp style\u003d\"margin-bottom:12pt\"\>\u003cstrong\>\u003cb\>\u003cfont color\u003d\"navy\" face\u003d\"Times New Roman\" size\u003d\"4\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:13.5pt;color:navy\"\>\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>\u003c/b\>\u003c/strong\>\u003cfont face\u003d\"Times New Roman\" size\u003d\"3\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:12pt\"\>",1] ); //--></script>e.g. region/city which the contestant represent, background of the contestant, and special abilities/disabilities which can draw viewers attention / sympathy, and ofcourse last but not the least, SMS votes... In other words, Judges award marks to contestants depending on where they are
    positioned on the popularity chart (in other words how much votes they have received till date) ... if you are at the top, no matter what mistakes you
    do, you still get more marks.. and if you are at the bottom, tough luck... and u get to hear all sorts of critisicm from the judges... ultimately the
    contestant receive marks based on the popularity chart and not totally on their performance... and thats why you see some contestants scoring mor

even if their performance in the performance rounds are worse than other better performing contestants... the internal rumour is there are opinion
    differences on this concept within the Judges... but for the sake of the show, it remains backstage... Moroever do you guys know how much each of
    the judges are paid to be part of the show... I ll give you a hint, the host of the show is paid approx 10K per shooting day... so u can guess how
    much judges are paid.. so they dont bother even if deserving candidates lose out...

<script><!-- D(["mb","\n\n\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>*Regards\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp style\u003d\"margin-bottom:12pt\"\>Sujith\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp style\u003d\"margin-bottom:12pt\"\>*\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp style\u003d\"margin-bottom:12pt\"\>\u003cfont face\u003d\"Times New Roman\" size\u003d\"3\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:12pt\"\>\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>*\u003c/p\>\n\u003cp style\u003d\"margin-bottom:12pt\"\>\u003cfont face\u003d\"Times New Roman\" size\u003d\"3\"\>\u003cspan style\u003d\"font-size:12pt\"\>\u003c/span\>\u003c/font\>*\u003cspan\> \u003c/span\>\u003c/p\>\u003c/div\>\u003c/div\>\u003c/div\>\u003cbr clear\u003d\"all\"\>\u003cbr\>-- \u003cbr\>regards!\u003cbr\>\u003cspan\>prajusha \n\u003c/span\>\n",0] ); D(["ce"]); //--></script> Regards
    Sujith

Latha

8. imemyself

imemyself Senior IL'ite

Hi Latha,
    Thanks for the article u posted...!! I was totally upset after reading this!!!
    I did understand that SMS is not counted but I thought atleast the marks wld be considered but I was shocked to know that the marks awarded are according to the popularity chart!!! :shock:

But then...as per the pgme...some of the participants who got eliminated like Gayathri Suresh ,Lakshmi Jeyan...they r popular contestants!Then how come they got eliminated??? But still who knows what happens in the back stage!!!!
    Pls do let us know abt the blog sites u mentioned...!
    Wld surely like to know the actual way the pgme is conducted!!!

Jaya

9. meenu

meenu Bronze IL'ite

Latha,
    Thank you for letting the cat out of the bag.
    I am now covinced of the rigging.
    meenu

10. jayasree05

jayasree05 Senior IL'ite

hai everyone
    even i am van of idea star singer, , here in riyadh it is telecasted at 6, so if any work is there also i leave that and come to sit in front of the television, it was bad that good singers like william, renjin and all were out instead of sudarshan, but varun sings very well but they are not giving him enough marks as of najeem and eshaam. this is my opinion
    jayasree