1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Husband Working For More Hours

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by Keet, Aug 19, 2023.

1. Keet

Keet Silver IL'ite

My husband works as an Assistant Prof, recently tenured. We both are in our late 40's and have a 7 year old boy and live in a city that has cold weather for 8 months. I work in IT and work from home. H drops kid at school at 8 and brings back at 5.30 pm. After coming home prepares for next day class, works on his research papers etc. 90% of Sundays of the year goes to office/lab. Only Saturday's stays home to take kid to activities. Even holidays goes to office/lab, he does not know how many days his yearly leaves are. Takes yearly leaves if when visiting India. Regarding national holidays he won't even know it is a holiday until kid started going to school. If kid is sick or school break he wont even stay home for a day. All falls on me. This has been going on for 15 years, now with a 7 year old I am tired. Last 5 days he was away for a conference in another state, came back morning after couple of hours he is ready to got to office/lab. I am mad. Do all profs work like this? Even I was from same field but move to IT now. I think with years of experience one needs to focus on growing up kids too. I expect him to stay home on some sunday's, holidays and week or two yearly to take care of the kid, so I can focus on my own things.

2. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

3. Dishaa

Dishaa Gold IL'ite

Dear Op,

Go out for a Tea or Coffee date with husband.
    Now your kid is 7 years so even you guys can go plan for dinner date or go for a movie.
    Please talk or discuss with him and try to figure out a mid path which suits you both.

4. nuss

nuss Platinum IL'ite

Do all profs work like this?