1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

how to improve understanding and promote healthy relationship.

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by harpreet86, May 29, 2013.

1. harpreet86

harpreet86 New IL'ite

Sorry long post venting out. Plz be patient
    Hi all,
    This is my first post in "Married Life" section.
    Background: Married for more than two years in a arranged marriage. After marriage moved overseas to live with my husband. I left my job after marriage waiting for visa which took a year and after moving overseas i have do make a career change due to less demand of electronics engineers in my current country. I am studying and working 2 days a week. My husband is working in a full time steady job 9Am to 5PM. we both work on Saturdays.

My problem: My husband is self occupied person and he fails to understands my needs or expectations from him as a husband. We have different level of thinking in life whenever I try to address an issue with him it always ends with him giving lectures to me. He loves to lecture me if I try to be logical and say things then it hurts his ego. He can never be wrong. Following are the steps he take whenever I address any issue to him
    Step1- Listen to me.
    Step2- Make me feel that how i make big issues out of small things and belittles me. He pity my thinking and tells me you have very low level of thinking. Every problem originates from how a person thinks. when i try to be logical and explain him things on face value then he fails to understand and tells me not to expect in life always try to be happy in what to have. expectations kill a relationship. the above move of him kills my confidence and leaves me questioning me about myself.
    STEP3- When he sees I am sinking then he lectures me.
    I have tried several times to handle situations in different ways but he is really a good speaker and knows how to manipulate things.