1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

How to break off a friendship?

Discussion in 'Friends & Neighbours' started by smilingalways, Feb 15, 2014.

1. smilingalways

smilingalways New IL'ite

First off I am a very reserved person. If I am friends with someone i will do my best to keep them happy. I am currently a med student. When I first joined the university me and a girl, lets call her A who was coincidentally from my same community became friends. Later on she found friends also from the same community which was small gang in school. I dislike one of the girls (B) from the gang. I know she doesnt like me as well. There is always a friction going on between us. Moreover I feel we should mingle with everyone and not be a fish in the pond. A found them to be more fun and started hanging out with them. I had no problem with this. But she felt guilty at times and came and talked to me just to assure me that she was still my friend. I felt this behaviour was childish but didnt say anything as I didnt want to hurt anyone. In this process there were many instances where I got hurt. 3 days back it was B's birthday. They wanted to surprise her, so asked me if they could bake the cake at my place. I said ok.. A and another friend came over. Before that me and A went to the store and bought the items needed for the cake. Ps i also contributed to paying for it, not that I am complaining. A was insistent on making the cake. I made them a 3 course dinner (which is not easy being in a med school). The cake was from instant mix, so there was nothing much i could do, expect provide the dishes. Since they were insistent on making the cake I didnt want to intrude. So after all the cooking minus cake and doing all the dishes we took the cake to B's place at around 12. The gang was there and asked who made the cake... obviously A said she and the other girl made the cake. Then they asked what was I doing.... the answer was watching a movie :( Af