Gangaur Pooja

Discussion in 'Bangalore' started by sweevi, Mar 15, 2011.

1. sweevi

sweevi New IL'ite

Hi Ladies,
    It will be great if someone living in Bangalore(prefferably a native of Rajasthan) can tell me if they do gangaur pooja here.
    Actually,I've heard that holika dehan is not performed at many temples here. As gangaur pooja requires holi ashes,I was wondering how to get it...
    If anyone has any idea or have friends who perform the pooja....please let me know asap. Please help:)

2. vijayajaju

vijayajaju Bronze IL'ite

hi sweevi,
    i m at hal airport road and holika dhaahan is on done on wind tunnel road near airforce camp .if u r in same area or close by u can get the aash . hope that it wud at least help u .. even we do the gangaur pooja at our place in vinayak nagar
    vijaya:thumbsup

3. sweevi

sweevi New IL'ite

Thank you Vijaya....
    Do you use the holi ashes along with the cow dung to make the pindiyaan(I hope I've got it right!!) for gangaur pooja? It's such an elaborate pooja to do here all alone. Back home ladies do it in groups.

4. vijayajaju

vijayajaju Bronze IL'ite

yah sweevi we also hav the same procedure ....by the way in which part of bangalore r u?

5. sweevi

sweevi New IL'ite

Indiranagar...

6. vijayajaju

vijayajaju Bronze IL'ite

did u got the ash ?r u doing it for 16 days all alone or u got somebody for the company. i'll only do it on d last day as we r supposed to do it only till our ujman is not done,,, so from where r u? i m from rajasthan { bikaner} if u hav heard abt it .

7. sweevi

sweevi New IL'ite

No I didn't:( I couldn't read ur reply as it was a weekend n I ws busy...Yes,I m doing it for 16 days.
    I asked my MIL and she suggested me to do it without the pindiyaan,
    So,I hv put up the 16 tikis of mehendi,kajal and roli and doing the rest of the pooja sans the pindiyaan....
    Yeah I m doing it alone n on my own....:)
    Yeah I am a rajput from Jaipur.

8. PriyankaAg

PriyankaAg New IL'ite

Hi Seevi,

Did u do the gangaur pooja ? From whr did u get the gangaur ??
    Please let me know asap..Thanks a lot!!

9. labelle

labelle New IL'ite

Hi..even i would like to attend the gangaur pooja,its my first and have no clue about the procedure involved....plz guide me n where is the pooja conducted?can it be performed alone?..asap