Everything Is Maya

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by gamma50g, Mar 11, 2024.

1. gamma50g

gamma50g Gold IL'ite

I started learning Bhagawad Gita in a quest to find peace, happiness and also some answers to life's questions.

The more I read the more I feel that this life I am leading really has no purpose or meaning. Everything is so transient. Everything is just Maya.

I wonder if its just a phase that everyone goes through it some time or the other in their lives or if there is more to it.

Last edited: Mar 12, 2024
    Viswamitra and Rihana like this.

2. Rihana

Rihana Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

You too! I swear man this book should be banned. : )

A friend got me hooked to a video series by Swami Tadatmananda.
    I skipped chapter 1 as not much interested in a description of Arjuna's grief.

I have only watched a few so far as we are watching it in book club style, and discussions are in person or sometimes video call.

I also am reading a tattered old print book my friend's father gave me in my last India trip.

I sometimes feel like you have written - there is no purpose or meaning, everything is so transient. I got borderline concerned when major events found me rather undisturbed as 'well this won't matter in the long run.'

I don't know the answer to your question - "everyone goes thru it or there is more to it?" My current reaction to that thought when it comes to my mind is: "Ati sarvatra varjayet."
    "Excess should be avoided; excess of anything is bad. Some of us are attracted to Good. But the universe tries to maintain balance. So what is good for some may end up being bad for others."

Or, in the words of Oscar Wilde: "Everything in moderation, including moderation."

So, I put away the Gita once in a while, and treat it more like a general guide, than a bible. : )