Endharo mahanubhavulu andhiriki vandanamu- Sant Kabirdas

Discussion in 'Religious places & Spiritual people' started by PushpavalliSrinivasan, Sep 23, 2009.

1. PushpavalliSrinivasan

PushpavalliSrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

The fakir went to Kabir’s house and told his mother that Kabir had given the cloth to a brahmin and that he had become a kafir by taking the Hindu God’s name. He further told that he was hiding in an abandoned house and that she should punish him for his unislamic behaviour.

Kabir’s mother who was expecting her son with money for the cloth got very wild to hear this. She went with the fakir and with the help of him she caught hold of Kabir. She snatched a cane from the fakir and beat up Kabir.

Lo! The slash of the cane fell on all the jeevas like the one which was felt by all the jeevas when Lord Siva was beaten when he carried the load of soil for the old lady’s sake by accepting pittu as cooli for His work!

Kabir’s mother also experienced the pain. The Lord who came in the guise of fakir also felt it and He immediately embraced Kabir and brushed his back kindly.

He gave darsan to Kabir’s mother with sangu chakram and told her that she was blessed to have a son like Kabir. He further told her that Kabir was a Njaani and he would get fame with his bhakthi margam and would write couplets which would spread bhakthi and wisdom.

Then He turned towards Kabir and said, “You are young now. So it is difficut for you to follow njaana margam. You need a guru to attain spirituality through which you could follow bhakthi margam.”

On hearing this Kabir had become very thoughtful. He wanted to get upadesam from a guru. He wanted to find a guru who would enlighten him.

During that period there was a great learned man in Benares. His name was Sri Ramananda. Sri Ramananda had a gurukulam at Benares and he had lot of Hindu disciples. Kabir wanted to approach him and request him to accept him as his disciple. But the other disciples did not allow him to enter the ashram as he was a muslim. For many days he tried to enter the ashram, but he could not succeed.

Then he devised a plan to get to him. He knew that every day at dawn Sri Ramananda used to go to river Ganges for performing his morning ablutions. He decided to lie down on the steps of the river so that when Ramananda would come to the river to take bath, in the darkness he could not see him and would set his foot on him. When saintly people did some mistake they would only take the name of the God to forgive them. So Sri Ramananda also would say only Rama nama and he would take it as manthropadesam to him and would also able to attain his foot dust to purify him.

So one morning Kabir went to the river Ganges and was lying down at the steps. As expected by him Sri Ramananda could not see him and so he tread over him. Immediately he Said, “ Ram Ram!”

Kabir was thrilled to hear that and he also felt blessed to have the foot dust of Sri Ramananda. He went home happily and he wore a thilak on his forehead and a thulasi mala on his neck. He took things for puja and went to Sri Ramanand’s ashram and started chanting Rama nama with the other disciples. The disciples took him in front of their guru and he got very angry with him.

He said,” You got your manthropadesam through false means and so you are not eligible to join the gurukulam. But you keep chanting Rama nama and the Lord will Bless you.”

Kabir felt happy that at least he was blessed to hear those words from Sri Ramanand.

Again Kabir’s parents tried to get him married and they chose a relative’s daughter. But the girl’s father refused telling that Kabir did not have sunnath ceremony. But the Lord Himself appeared as a fakir before the girl’s father and convinced him to agree for the proposal.

Kabir got married and his wife was also very religious minded and they both led a happy life .They used to feed the hungry and their doors were always open for hospitality even though they had to forego their meals. They were also blessed with two children and the boy named Kamal was also following the foot steps of his parents.

Once a great number of sadhus came to his house and told Kabir that they had no food since morning. There were no grains left in Kabir’s house. He did not know what to do, but went in side and asked his wife if there was anything valuable to pawn so that he could get some money. His wife told him that there was nothing, but she would give a suggestion if he would not feel bad. She told that a merchant had an eye on her and if she would fulfill his wish he would agree to give some money. Kabir told her to take him to the merchant’s house. He told the merchant that if he would give sufficient provision to feed the sadhus, he would trade his wife for the same. But he would send her to him only after feeding the sadhus. The merchant had agreed to the condition and Kabir and his wife fed the sadhus. The sadhus all praised Kabir for his hospitality and left the place.

As promised to the merchant Kabir took his wife to his house at night in spite of a heavy downpour. The merchant was ashamed for his conduct and he fell at Kabir’s feet and begged to forgive him.

Kabir’s son Kamal also proved that he did not lag behind to sacrifice in athithi sathkar.
    On another occasion the devotees of Panduranga, Gnanadev and Namadev came to Kabir’s house with their disciples. There was nothing in the house. Both father and son went to steal from a shop. Kamal made a hole in the wall and went in side. He took out provision from the shop and gave it to his father. But the merchant whose house was at the back heard some noise. He came and caught hold of Kamal’s legs as he was trying to get out.

Then Kamal said, “Father! Don’t waste time. If all the people rush out here, our theft will become known and our guests will take it as an insult. Please cut off my head and take it with you and hide it until the guests leave.” Kabir was touched by the supreme sacrifice of his son. With a heavy heart he did the hardest thing that on can ever do.

A great family of love where each one surpassed the other in showing their love and devotion! Kabir’s wife did not question her husband. The guests were treated with respect and reverence and were fed nicely.

Gnanadev and Namadev were very much pleased at the hospitality. Next evening they were passing through the market place singing bajans. They were surprised to see a headless body hung on a pole. People were also watching it in groups. The merchant had hung the body on the pole.

When Gnanadev and all came near, the body saluted them with folded hands. They were surprised to see this and asked Kabir whether he knew who it was. Kabir’s eyes were filled with tears.
    Kabir said , “He is a devotee of Lord Vishnu. There is very little life left in him just to see and hear you.”

Gnanadev being the true devotee of the Lord could visualize what had happened. He sent for the boy’s head and as soon as it was brought he joined it with the body and brought back to life. Both the boy and Kabir fell down at his feet. Thus it showed that the true devotee’s of Lord also could create miracle.

Kabirdas lit the light of bhakthi in many souls till he took his last breath. He believed in the Hindu siddhantha of karma, rebirth, liberation of the soul and the renunciation of world. But he did not believe in Idol worship and caste.
    His dohas are very meaningful and his soulful bajans are still sung not only in North India, but in south India also.

Mera mera kahke kya fal paayaa
    Hari ke bajana bina jutaka maayaa
    Kahatha kabira hari guna gaanaa
    Gaavatha naachatha vaikunta jaanaa!

Meaning: What did you achieve by claiming material things as your property? Without taking the name of Hari the life is futile. By singing and dancing Hari’s glory you can reach Vaikuntam

Jai Sri Kabirdas!

2. knot2share

knot2share Gold IL'ite

Dear PS mami
    Such a lovely and simple way of bringing to us the story of great Sant Kabir. I read both the parts together. I am glad I decided to read your blog today and have now learnt the story of Kabir I never knew about. Thank you very much.

3. amihere

amihere Platinum IL'ite

Thanks for sharing the story of Kabir Das, but am not sure how good is pawning a wife and stealing even if that is for athithi satkara counted as a good deed!!! Sure he was a true devotee of lord and his bhajans and slokas are second to none.

4. Lalitha Shivaguru

Lalitha Shivaguru Platinum IL'ite

Dear PS mami,

What a supreme devotion and sacrifice. Thanks mami for bringing this to us and enlightening us.

Blessed are we to hear the stories of the great saints.

5. manchitra

manchitra Senior IL'ite

We do sing the devotional songs creatd by Kabir das and I was happy to see the Gavath nachath Vaikunta Jaana.
    Thank you so much.

6. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Dear knot2share,
    Thanks a lot for dropping in and sharing your penchant for the story of the true devotee of the Lord. These stories do help us to long for the love of the Omnipresent!
    PS

7. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Dear Ami,
    Perhaps a true devotee feels that chastity is not affected by the union of bodies! He thinks God tests His devotion through these kind of acts.
    PS

8. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Dear Lalitha,
    I feel also blessed to to share these stories of great saints with you all.
    PS

9. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Dear Chitra,
    Thank you for enjoying Kabir's story and his bajan.
    PS

10. varalotti

Dear PS,
    Though I have heard of Kabir's story before, reading your lucid, simple narration was really refreshing. When everyone felt the pain of Kabir's mother's cane-beating I had goosebumps. Mysterious are the ways of the Lord.
    Kabir's and his son's love are something which we need to read again and again for thousands of times so that we get at least a thousandth of what was there in them.
    A great work, PS. Please continue. Remember you are filling some gaps in the education of a middle-aged mofussil accountant.

love,
    sridhar