Endharo mahanubhavulu andhiriki vandanamu- Sant Kabirdas

Discussion in 'Religious places & Spiritual people' started by PushpavalliSrinivasan, Sep 16, 2009.

1. PushpavalliSrinivasan

PushpavalliSrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

Sant Kabir Das

The meaning of Kabir is great. Kabir Das is revered by both Hindus and muslims. He was a man of principles and practiced what he preached. The religion found by Kabir is known as Kabir Panth.

Kabir’s father was a weaver by profession and he was a muslim. His name was Dhamal. He lived in Benares. He had no children for a long time. His wife was a pious lady. One day a fakir came to their house and she served him food. Before he left he told her that she would be blessed with a son to continue the hospitality. Dhamal was not at home and when he came home she told him about the blessing of the fakir. Dhamal laughed at her and said that as she had already crossed the child bearing age he could not believe it.

One day he went to the river Ganges to clean the weaving thread in the river after dying it. After finishing his work he was sitting and meditating at the bank of the river. Suddenly he heard the cries of a wailing baby. He walked up to the place from where the sound of the cry of the baby heard. To his surprise he found a lovely baby lying on a lotus leaf. He ran and took the baby and he thought that the baby was Allah’s gift. He took the baby home and gave it to his wife. She told Dhamal that the fakir’s blessings had become true.

They both loved the baby very dearly and they took the baby to Maszid to name him. The maulvi opened a page of Quran and he found the word kabir. So the child was given the name Kabir which means great.