Cost of living in Al khobar

Discussion in 'Indians in Eastern Province' started by visasubu, Dec 8, 2008.

1. visasubu

visasubu New IL'ite

Information on indian compound and cost of living in Al khubar

Am new to this forum and found site to be informative.

We are from Bangalore, India.

Self and my husband will be moving to al khubar soon. Would like to know the following information

1) Cost of living in al khubar - groceries , vegetable, gas , milk, transportation etc.

2) Furnished indian compound details with 1bk or 2 bk apartment in compounds. How much do they cost ?? What facilities will be there ? We are looking for good ones but not ver costly.

3) Unfurnished compound details , how much they cost for 1bk / 2bk.

4) In case, need to purchase furnitures , what will be the cost ? Will second hand furnitures available ?

5) Purchase of car - how much it will cost ?? basic model car.

6) How about eatables ? We are vegetarians and would like to know whether we get the required things .

It would be really great if I get response for the above queries.

Looking forward for your replies.

Thanks a lot,
    Visa

2. madhumathi1974

madhumathi1974 Bronze IL'ite

Re: Information on indian compound and cost of living in Al khubar

HI VISA,

Welcome to IL, iam staying in khobar from past 11/2yr this is a very good place to stay, n we have many indians over here. so dont worry. yeh u can go through the thread here by krishnamma answering all your questions.
    I wil give a bit information as the rents r 1500sr to 2000sr for 2b. we get all veg, gas n indian grocieries.we are also vegtrians so no prob ,there r indian embassy schools also. As my kids r studying there.

If u need any more information u can mail me r send me PM.

bye n tc.

Last edited: Dec 14, 2008
  3. Saraswathipv

Saraswathipv IL Hall of Fame

Hello Visa,

Welcome to Indusladies...and we look forward to your arrival in Saudi Arabia soon :).

Regarding your queries kindly refer to the discussion in Advice Required on Living in Saudi. If you have further queries, put them there. As Madhumathi mentioned, Krishnamma too could give you advice about the place and the cost of living.

I stayed in Alkhobar for a brief period of 5 months ...and we too are pure vegetarians. Not a problem regarding that....

All the best..:cheers

4. visasubu

visasubu New IL'ite

Thanks Madhumathi and Saraswathi for your responses.

Could you give more information about purchase of new furnitures or second hand furnitures ??

visa

5. visasubu

visasubu New IL'ite

When I tried posting my query in " Advised required onSaudi", Posted thread does not appear. It says " Moderator needs to approve".

Could anyone help me out .

Visa

6. madhumathi1974

madhumathi1974 Bronze IL'ite

Hi visa,

I cant help u in this moderator things but i can give u some information what ever u want about khobar which i know.

yeh, u will get good furnitures over here n cheap also. it depends upto the variety you choose. yeh in khobar this is a second hand market where we get all home needs, like eletoric items, cots, tables, furniture, everythings including mattress also, so dont worry, they suit our budget also.

If you want any more information you can send a Pm to me without any hesitation.

bye n takecare visa.

7. Saraswathipv

Saraswathipv IL Hall of Fame

Hi Visa,

You seem to have copy-pasted a earlier post from another thread (" Information on Indian compound and cost of living in al khuber") . When copy pasting some ad codes too got posted and so it was put in to moderation queue.

Now those codes are removed...You can now check your post..Its here .

Thanx and all the best :thumbsup.

Last edited: Dec 22, 2008
  8. Sonia1708

Sonia1708 New IL'ite

Hi All
    We are planning to move to Al Khobar, and I would like to know what is life like in Al Khobar - I have gone thru the posts already in Indus Ladies. I am particularly interested to know the life in Compounds and ease of life there - i have a daughter - all info about living in Al Khobar would be greatly helpful.
    Thanks in advance to all of you!
    PN: I really enjoy reading all of the posts and it also helps me to learn many new things.
    :)

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 8, 2010
  9. hyd_prince4u

hyd_prince4u New IL'ite

Re: Planning to move to Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia

Hi Sonia welcome to IL.
    My Name is Mohammad Rafi I live in khober it is very nice cool place and new city located 20km far from Dammam. You can find Indian food materials shopping centers in main city, Cornish with pleasant environment for wonderful weekend. Best of luck :thumbsup

10. RubinaRonit

RubinaRonit New IL'ite

Re: Planning to move to Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia

hi Sonia

My name is reena..I am from Delhi..My husband is joining a company in Dammam in september 2009 and I would join him in April 2010 after the school sessions are over. Can you please guide me on following points.

1. Fooding expenses for a family of 3 persons
    2. Indian TV Channels available there and its cost PM
    3. Internet Connection Monthly Charges.
    4. Availability of Restaurants serving North Indian food and Cost per Meal per person.
    5. Availabilty of Ready to Eat Indian Food.
    6. Area which is Good for Indians to live in Al Khobar
    7. Availability of Part Time Domestic help for House Cleaning, Washing etc.
    thx

Reena

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 26, 2009