Cold porcelain Clay Making : Method & Useful Link

Discussion in 'Knitting & Crochet' started by poojaprasad, Jun 3, 2009.

1. yamusarna

yamusarna Silver IL'ite

re: Cold porcelain Clay Making : Method & Useful Link

Hi Pooja,

Thanks for the procedure. It seems like an interesting thing to try.
    I just wanted to clear a doubt though
    By corn starch, do you mean corn flour. Can we use corn flour instead..
    And another doubt, what colors...I mean ceramic, metallic etc to use to clour the items made out of cold porcelain....

Thanks a lot.Keep sharing your ideas and yes this is a great site.It had been my best friend for 2 years now.

Yamuna.

2. poojaprasad

poojaprasad Gold IL'ite

Hi Yamuna

Yes I certainly meant corn flour.
    Coming to the colouring options...you get some coloring powders which you can mix with the dough and work.... they certainly look very nice.
    If you are good at acrylics...you can use them too.
    The last work I did ...I just painted everything black and highlighted everything with some gold pwd. Glass colors are a great idea ...can try them and if they work ......here you'll have another finish option.

Hope this info was helpful..

Pooja Prasad

3. shobana 007

shobana 007 Gold IL'ite

c'mon no depression dear.here u hav lot of friends to share ur feeling.don't worry just go .u can pm me whenever u wonna share .

4. poojaprasad

poojaprasad Gold IL'ite

Thank you for all the support!!!

5. Sudha Kailas

Sudha Kailas IL Hall of Fame

Thanks Pooja for the recipe to make clay.

6. jsrivenkat

jsrivenkat Silver IL'ite

Hello freinds,

After a VERY LONG time i am posting a beautiful Link on Cold Porcelain work.Its a blog wherein a crafter has very neatly contributed to the making of the clay and a sample work.Check it out and do add more insight into the work with photos.

The second link is to learn the coloring the clay for working.

How to Make Cold Porcelain - CraftStylish

Cold Porcelain Tutorials

Continuing with on more link.....making work easier now that the clay is Ready!

Check this out.

Mad Hatters Club - August Project

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2009
  7. Vidu29

Vidu29 Gold IL'ite

Re: Cold Porcelain-Tutorial from a Blog.

Hi jsri,
    I have been seeing these tempting cold porcelain works. Lagta hai ki ab to kutch karna hi padega...... :idea I was just thinking Y dont we get together someday ......... "Crafts day picnic" do some real craft works together. I think it will be fun. What say??
    vidya

8. mituyadav

mituyadav Platinum IL'ite

Thanks alot Jayashree for sharing the links..

9. jsrivenkat

jsrivenkat Silver IL'ite

Hello vidya,
    Agreed to your Idea.When where and how will be your plan.We will get together ,tabhi mera bhi kuch kam pura hoga.It has become so lonely to work alone......This craft stumbled in my search and i thought porcelain was a difficult material and how to use....But cornflour base?!was a surprise.Todays Times of India [2 days]has a advt for such a class.Let me know.

Hello mituyadav
    No thanks please.This forum has a freedom to post and share ,even if its repeat as the enthusiasm of the crafter is kept in mind.Will be happy to see your posts,will be going to your profile from here..

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2009
  10. Sudha Kailas

Sudha Kailas IL Hall of Fame

Hi Jayashree, not fair at all. You and vidya joining the classes for procelain crafts.
    Anyways wishing you success, so when I am there next vacation learn it from u.
    Thanks for giving us the useful links. We can have some knowledge of what it is all about.