1. Would you like to join the IL team? See open jobs!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. What can you teach someone online? Tell us here!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Take the 100 Days Positivity Challenge : Join Here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. If someone taught you via skype, what would you want to learn? Tell us here!
    Dismiss Notice

careers in Bioinformatics

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by ananda, Dec 12, 2006.

1. ananda

ananda New IL'ite

Hi friends
    I'm a post graduate in biochemistry & currently doing Bioinformatics.I'm really worrying alot abt my career bcos I'm not getting the right jobs.
    Anybody relating 2 this field pls help me
    Thanks

2. Sumathy

Sumathy Senior IL'ite

Hi Ananda,

Bioinformatics with biochemistry background is a good choice. If you have the inclination, try to pursue higher studies abroad - bioinformatics courses over here are just an introduction to the field and there is lot more to learn. Once you get into a job, you lose this opportunity and your career growth can get stunted as more qualified people will compete with you. You could consider doing the job as a stop-gap - to save money and to prepare for further studies.

There are quite a few companies into this field - I will list some of these here (as I am Bangalore based, I am giving you those names primarily). Check the websites for these companies and start applying. If you are still in your course, request for training in these companies - if you do well, you have of good chance of placement.

Strand Life Sciences
    Astra Zeneca
    Biocon
    Jubilant Biosciences (they are expanding big way - try here seriously)
    Avestagen
    Gangagen

All the best - no need to worry as you are qualified well in an upcoming field.

Cheers,

Sumathy

3. ananda

ananda New IL'ite

Hi sumathy
    Thank u so much for ur valuable information.