Basics of Cooking & Kitchen for all (especially new weds)

Discussion in 'Recipe Central' started by rajmiarun, Nov 29, 2006.

1. rajmiarun

rajmiarun Gold IL'ite

Hi All,
    I am a new member but as such I am no cullinary expert too. But all I have is a huge collection of so many reciepies which I have collected from time to time and which I have tried many. Would like to share with all.

I have made it a habit of gifting Meenakshi Ammal's Samaithupaar or Cook and See for all my cousins who got married. Either going abroad or staying back in India.

I would share a few basic things which I learnt from my mother and grandmother when I got married 9 years ago. It is so useful till date and would like to share it with all and will be happy if any changes too could be made.

For a family of 2:
    Every day rice qty for the morning 2 1/2 cups or 250 ml.
    Daal or Thuvaram Parupu 1/2 cup or 50 ml.
    (If you are making sambar or paruppu rasam increase the qty to 1 1/4 cups 125ml)

Rice for the night if you are taking rice in the night then it is 175 ml or 1 3/4th cups)

I have got the qtys only in cups but for the convinience of others I have converted it to ml.

For Sambar: Gram Dhall 2 sp,
    Coriander seeds or Dhaniya 1/2 sp
    Venthayam or Mentil 1/4 sp
    Rice 1/2 sp
    Red Chilli 4 nos
    Kariveppilai
    Fry all these and grind it with your desired qty of grated cocunut. Cook all the vegetables in tamarind juice and when the tamarind smell goes add salt and the ground paste. Add 2 big karandis of cooked thoor daal and mix it well.

Last edited: Dec 14, 2006

2. rajmiarun

rajmiarun Gold IL'ite

Some Podis for daily cooking

Rasam Podi:
    Dhaniya : 3 cups
    Thoor daal : 1 3/4 cups
    Red Chilli : 1 1/2 cups
    Milagu : 1 cup
    Jeeragam : 3/4 cups
    Perungayam : a small piece
    turmeric powder : a sp