back to work after a break

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by Tulasi, Jan 25, 2007.

1. Tulasi

Tulasi Silver IL'ite

Hi Friends,

I worked for five years in a good company and after my second child born i quit my job it has been three years now.. I want re-enter the job field but I am
    getting scared that will i get job after this much break and what should I tell the
    employers what i did this 3 years basically how should i fill up the gap of 3 years in resume in a effective way....can you ladies please give me some advice

Thanks

Last edited: Aug 17, 2007

2. rajinigandhap

rajinigandhap Senior IL'ite

Hi tulasi

Hi
    Actually i have gap of 2 years .In My resume i filled that I am in teaching profession .Actually i am a software engineer.But they didn't considered Teaching Experience as your general proffessional experience.But you can
    Easily fill the gap.All the best

3. vmur

vmur Silver IL'ite

Hi Tulasi,

It is better not to lie on your resume. Usually the US employers do a background check when you join employment (though they check for felony and other criminal offences). However it is better you be frank and straightforward in what you write on your resume.

When asked in the interview, it is okay and quite acceptable to say that you were a "stay at home" mom. I know many of my friends and colleagues who have gone back to work after 3-5 years of staying home either because of visa problems or motherhood/personal reasons.

Good luck with your search.

Regards
    Vidya

1 person likes this.
  4. Tulasi

Tulasi Silver IL'ite

Rajani & Vidya,

Thank you for your response. I also a software engr.just gaining confidence after
    reading your responses. will start looking for job soon..

Thanks again

Last edited: Aug 17, 2007
  5. svm33m

svm33m New IL'ite

Hi,

I am also into IT. I also have a gap of 3 yrs after my delivery. I am finding it quite difficult here in Canada to reenter workforce. If you have any tips, let me know.

Thanks,