1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Anybody working in Boston?

Discussion in 'Indians in Boston' started by krithika, Jan 23, 2007.

1. krithika

krithika New IL'ite

Hi,

I'm coming to Boston in a couple of weeks from now and will be in US for a year or so. I'm a software engineer in Bangalore. And most likely I have to quit my job. Can someone let me know the oppurtunites in Boston? I was told that I will get my EAD only after 3 months. Is there anything (some partime or some kind of work) that I can do till then?
    And even after getting EAD what all I should do to get a job out there? Should I get any documents (apart from the ceritficates) from India? Any sugesstions and tips from working women would be very helpful.

Thanks,
    Krithika

2. Selvi

Selvi Senior IL'ite

Hi,

I used to work in Boston long back.. Boston has many companies, so job opportunities are very good. Are u coming in Business visa? Im not sure based on what you can get EAD in 3 months..

Here companies look mainly for experience only, I dont think u need any certificates for the interviews.. If you are strong in technical skills & if u r able to explain urself clearly you wont have anything to worry abt interviews.

If you are coming through any consulting company, they will arrange interviews for you in Client companies.. You can also apply to various companies through job search websites itself.. If you are coming for the first time, understanding american accent in interviews would be little difficult for sometime.. You will get used it once you are here.

I cant think of any other details now.. Let me know if you have any specific questions.

Goodluck!!

:wave

3. Riz1

Riz1 New IL'ite

hi

hi there are lots of financial companies, who might hire you but only with proper work permits, rules are really strict now for immigrants

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2008
  4. hydgrr

hydgrr Bronze IL'ite

Hi Krithika,