Chitvish Recipes - Post your comments here (part 3)

Discussion in 'Ask ChitVish' started by Chitvish, Jun 22, 2009.

1. Chitvish

Thanks, Sakshi. Plain C chutney is a bit monotonous, may be this is 'novel'??
    Your masakai corresponds to DH's weight gain?? Interesting!!
    Good that you are now a gulab jamun specialist!

2. Chitvish

Dear Gayatri, on your asking, I tried Green chilli kuzambu with home grown green chillis in Madurai. I will post itafter D!
    D is just a social function! So, why not-------??
    Anyway, whatever is your family custom!
    Thanks & love,
    chithra.

3. Chitvish

Raji, you have made not just restaurant style bhaturas, but restaurant style dinner as well, with plum pudding to end off !!
    This is a rest: recipe, a friend gave me & I love it with its lovely colour!!
    Thanks & love,

4. Chitvish

Beti, first don't ever apologise! You make me feel like a a school ma'm!!
    After a FB, Panchavati Daal has taken off, thanks!

5. Chitvish

Dear PBird, Such a quick FB!! I think, you added a weebit more of bak pdr! You are lucky that just one flaked off & the rest came out well!
    Remember you have tried a tricky sweet, successfully - creditable:thumbsup
    Chithra

6. Hemalata

Hemalata Senior IL'ite

Dear chitra mami,
    I have guests for dinner today and i'm planning the following menu:
    1. chapatis
    2. nawabi curry
    3. some pulav
    4. raita
    5. carrot halwa

i saw in one of your get-togethers that you had made nuts and dry-fruit pulav which went very well with nawabi curry.. In case you have not posted it, can you give me the recipe here? Or let me know which other pulav will go very well with nawabi curry.

Thanks in advance,
    Hema

Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  7. Chitvish

Dear Hema,
    Indha, pidichuko! It is too simple & hence I have not bothered to post!:biggrin2:
    Mixed Nuts Pulao

Basmathi - 1 cup
    Bay leaf - 1
    Peppercorns - ½ tsp
    Chopped onion - 1 cup
    Green chillies-ginger-garlic minced - 1 tbsp (or more to taste)
    Tutti frutti - 2 tbsp
    Chopped cashes & almonds +raisins - ½ cup

Salt
    Coconut milk - 1 ½-2 cups (from ½ cup coconut)
    Oil + ghee - 2 tbsp
    Cook basmathi grainy with little salt & coconut milk.
    Heat oil+ghee & first roast the nuts & raisins & remove.
    Add the minced ingredients, lightly fry & add onions.
    When onions turn glossy, switch off.
    Add rice, sal & mix.
    Garnish with roasted nuts just before serving.

8. shyamalashiva

shyamalashiva Senior IL'ite

Dear Chitramma,

I made the chocolate cake with icing.. it was very very good.. I only had a little piece for fear of indulging but my SIL and her sons, all said it was very good.. Only the timing took more than 35 mins..also they werent very mosit.. a little bit on the dry side. But I have only a few pieces left already.. Thanks a lot. S is yet to have ..will let you know his FB tomorrow.

Shyamala

9. Traveller

Traveller Gold IL'ite

Dear chithramma,

today not any interesting vege in kitchen made suda suda ven pongal with coconut chutney for dinner. the pongal is ideal for kutty ponnu as well (nanna thoonguva). this is the first time i made pongal in PP; very quick to make and delicious. got thai coconut. sema sweet. that's the reason i voted against gothsu despite having small onions. again this is the first time i used cup measurement for chutney and such a good result. after a long long time made coconut chutney... such a delightful dinner on a cold, dark autumn evening...

i uploaded the celery-mushroom pulao, ragi dosai pictures here: http://www.indusladies.com/forums/miscellaneous-recipes/36317-virtual-feast-83.html

please do check out when you find time...

Latha

10. nimmisrinath

nimmisrinath Senior IL'ite

hai chitra aunty,
    I tried the following receipes,
    1. thenkuzal - my press was having very small holes and it came out very thin,instead i used the other slightly big one and pressed , wow it came out really well,I was making it for the first time and it came out really well. 2. made angel burfi - came out creamish in color and not white like the photo you had shown. but the taste was really yummy. especially the taste of ghee was prominent in it.will make it fo diwali again.:thumbsup
    3. made baked thathai- that again came out well.
    4. made rice upma today for breakgast ,we like the taste will make it often now.
    thanks a lot aunty for posting all these receipes.
    nimmi