Desi Chana Vada

Discussion in 'Recipe Central' started by mathangikkumar, Aug 4, 2012.

1. mathangikkumar

mathangikkumar Platinum IL'ite

My neighbour gave some soaked Desi chana as pooja prashad.

I tried vada and it came out tasty and crispy.

Here is the recipe
    Soaked Desi chana 200 grams
    Red chilly 3 nos
    2 spring Curry leaves
    2 inch ginger finely chopped
    turmeric 1 sp
    salt to taste
    oil to fry
    Put the chana, ginger, salt and red chilly in the mixie and make a nice smooth paste by sprinkling water.
    Avoid adding water.
    After it becomes a smooth paste, take it out add curryleaves, turmeric powder and take a small portion and flatten it and put in the oil. Remove once it's done.
    PS
    you can add sliced onions in the mix for onion vada.

2. kanaka Raghavan

kanaka Raghavan IL Hall of Fame

sounds like falafel,vadas made out of channa and stuffed in chappatis and filled with veggies here,anyway thanks for the recipe,will try it out.

3. myworld

myworld Silver IL'ite

wow great in my opinion don't waste anything if at all spoiled give to plants earthworm will eat

4. pranatim

pranatim Platinum IL'ite

I will give a try for sure.

5. reena2012

reena2012 Junior IL'ite

Nice option.. dal vada are common, but have never made vadas out of desi chana..

6. brahan

brahan Platinum IL'ite

Mathangi Madam,

I have tried the same. But instead of Deep frying in the Oil, i used to out i Tava and add Oil (1 Tbsp). It comes like a cutlet. :)Healthy too

7. PRUDENT

PRUDENT New IL'ite

Will try it out thank u

8. vjbunny

vjbunny IL Hall of Fame

Dear Mathangi Ma
    Nice recipe thanks for sharing

9. rkgurbani

rkgurbani IL Hall of Fame

Something like the Lebanese Felafal, but with a desi twist.

Have made Felafal but will surely try your recipe. Thanks for sharing as I have a lot of channa at home.