About Parents & Siblings After Marriage

Discussion in 'Parents & Siblings' started by Rihana, Feb 7, 2020.

1. Rihana

you tried to write precisely what ym wrote? LOL.

there's a difference that I will make a futile attempt to highlight. ym contributed to the thread's main question and then commented on one item from the list I had compiled so far. you on the other hand only commented on the lack of validity of the thread itself.

beats me why you have to comment on threads where you feel the thread itself is a moot point. why come and put such a damper on what is obviously a light-hearted timepass topic? time and again we can see that from you - criticize a thread, thread's purpose, responses by members or the length of the responses or the time "wasted" by them. i often tell myself "scooa" whenever I see this from you and try to move past it.

2. Angela123

Angela123 Gold IL'ite

I am 34 year old and when I visit my mom, I do get a small "urula" of rice if she is eating her 10 clock rice :blush:. It tastes so good, even if there is no curry to go with it. But it is just one urula though.

SinghManisha, yellowmango and Rihana like this.
  3. ragzz

ragzz Silver IL'ite

Indeed the point I was trying to make is these things cant be enumerated like a codebook. As far as you not wanting to hear any of that, oh well - glad you picked up a new abbreviation and smartly picking your moment to use it, I can say scooa to your admonishments too, but maybe I’ll just say glad you learnt an abbreviation.

4. Rihana

Have seen this happen too often. If a man or woman changes after marriage, some leg pulling is fine, but people take it to the point of getting upset.

A boy in our relatives married a girl who had gone to a convent school and generally spoke good English, and was more posh than us. He started to celebrate their anniversaries like girl-dekko anniversary, engagement anniversary, and what not. Used to go to Archie's store to buy small gifts for her. It became a huge issue.

It also happens the other way though rarely.. if a woman changes. One young lady from a family that worshiped coffee and treated it as something almost holy switched to drinking tea after marriage so she would have to make only tea as in-laws all had that. Oh how her family thought she had betrayed them. : )

Dang. I forgot to include this. Thank you. No matter how much you also want to go to that movie or that new mall, do not tag along. If your bhaiya or didi's spouse for politeness sake asks you to come along, even then, be sensible and say no.

Wrote about this in banter thread a while back. Little kids jumping up and down on the bed are not cute to the young people who will later make love on that bed. Teach your kids (no matter how young they are) to respect the space of newly married people.

Thank you, and thank you for pitching in. Have requested thread to be closed. So, adding a few till it is good morning in Chennai.

5. Rihana

When I read the havoc wrought by parents who visit their married child's house for extended period without checking how feasible it is for their child and child's family, I shake my head. I have seen households where unless the person and the person's spouse each verbally issue an invite, such plans are not made.

yellowmango likes this.
  6. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

When parents behave like they do not recognize their adult children (married or not) as independent adults, there has to be repercussions.
    Your (repeated more than once on this forum :clap2: )advice to let children have an independent consult with their pediatricians is the beginning of the education of parents on learning how to recognize boundaries and independence.
    Parents who fail repeatedly, deserve to be excommunicated from the lives of their (married or not) adult-children. While the adult-child may be guilt-ridden and therefore unable to do that, the adult-child-in-law would have no such qualms to demand/require proper behavior from his/her PIL's.

Your wallet example is quite applicable to all of the belongings of the person -- including archived historical data (especially from The Blunder Years*), and photographs.
    A parent or sibling has to ask the permission of the adult-child/sibling before divulging any past information to the spouse of that adult child/sibling or his/her in-law relatives. It is always best to let the adult-child have the joy of revealing the past to her/his new relatives through a marriage.

*"The Wonder Years" --was a TV sitcom series from 1988-93 on American Television.

Last edited: Feb 8, 2020
    Rihana likes this.
  7. Rihana

True. If the child does not demand or ensure that behavior from his/her parents, the child-in-law need not be equally tolerant. Unfortunately, I got this gyan mostly after observing this behavior from my mother.
    Got this gyan from my better-half. To accept that around high-school time, my child's "personal" life starts to become off-limits unless he/she needs or solicits help was a hard lesson.

yellowmango and Amulet like this.
  8. Rihana

Agree. Each family has some practices outsiders can consider odd but which are natural to that family. In the case of any such practice, not just mother feeding child, if the child's spouse finds it awkward, better if the spouse's preference can be respected without the spouse having to explain it deeply. Of course, if the spouse wants to abolish every display of affection, there is a different problem.

It was 2 o'clock rice in our home when we were young. Often on the days we washed the house, and we were wiping the floor with "dry" old towels. Now I can't remember when was the last time I had rice like this.

shravs3 and Angela123 like this.
  9. yellowmango

True.
    Feeding a grown son/ daughter with hand in front of their spouse is a pet peeve of mine ....mostly because the ' man' in your life looks like a child and I would rather see him as a man ...

Second pet peeve is when mother enters the room when he is changing clothes...I doubt girls have fathers entering the room and continuing talking to the daughter who is changing clothes.
    It just shows a refusal to accept that your son is an adult.

The affectuons that I find very endearing is when he gives his parents a giant long bear hug after touching their feet.
    Also when he sits with mil to peel peas or sort out greens while doing chit chat .
    Also helping her in the kitchen and laying of the table and getting dishes from the kitchen to the table as she tells him ...it is something that they did for a long time when I was not on the scene.I just make rotis and cut salad and watch ...

Amulet and Rihana like this.
  10. Rihana

And the thing is when gently told that walking in on son changing clothes should stop, instead of taking it in the right spirit, they make it an issue, "Oh now you are a big boy, married, I who have washed your butt now should not enter room when you are changing clothes.."

Nice to read. It is the simple rituals that speak the most.

Amulet and yellowmango like this.