Reason for using Velli (Silver) in Pooja

Discussion in 'Queries on Religion & Spirituality' started by ridgemma, Oct 22, 2007.

1. ridgemma

ridgemma Gold IL'ite

Hi Ladies,

My Father in Law, recently gave me 108 silver jasmine (Velli mottukkal), and asked me to do archanai with lalitha sahasranama every friday. Can we add flowers and jasmine while performing the archana ? My Sister in Law told don't mix them, as people use silver as it is dosham free and more shuddh and there are chances that the flowers bought from outside might have any dosham (like the lady who sells it might be on her menses or some bird would have crossed it...). I wanted to use this very religiously knowing the methodology, as I regard them very high and feel it is like a invaluable asset of a generation that is passed on to me.

People also recommended me to buy velli for akshadai. Some say it is only to show prestige people use silver. Any thoughts on this......

2. sunkan

Dear ridgemma,
    my grandfather also had gold flower mottu for the lalithasahasranamam, it is just for purity and people who go for more sastra along with pooja and i have inherited his srichakra palaga, but dont know how to use it, with changing time we can go in for flowers as many of us are not taking an interest to go into the sastra and look for source for these things, metal has a way to help the body in its own way, we use a little gold for the babies along with the medicines when they are given orai marundu, that is to make small paste of all the medicinal herbs and then add some gold by rubbing it on the sandalwood paste making stone, and give it in paladai with mother's milk,so it has its value, when we wear silver anklets and gold bangles all these play an important role, so if u have silver mottu very good use it,
    and please do not analyse where u do mother's puja, it is sheer bhakthi and u can offer anything to her, she is the kindness omnipotent who can bless for the bhakthi than anything else..We used silver plates to eat in, even coffee was served in silver glasses.

SILVER kills all known bacteria and viruses
    SILVER stimulates immune system.
    SILVER speeds up healing and repair.
    SILVER accelerates bone and muscle repair.
    SILVER tones body and creates feeling of well-being.
    SILVER promotes healthy bones and joints.
    SILVER is the perfect skincare solution.
    SILVER safely kills infections in eyes, ears, nose and sinus.
    SILVER speeds healing of torn muscles and ligaments.
    SILVER accelerates healing of stubborn skin ulcers.
    SILVER has killed at least 650 known germs and viruses, and all germs, bacteria, allergens and pathogens introduced to colloidal silver en vitrio during tests in leading scientific and medical institutions both in the USA and worldwide.
    SILVER keeps water and foods free of bacteria (as used in most airlines and NASA spacecraft.
    SILVER promotes healthy plant growth (kills fungus and infection) SILVER promotes good health for dogs and most other pets (boosts immune system and accelarates healing)
    SILVER fights the results of pollution and allergens.
    SILVER together with ZINC protects the PROSTRATE

now you know what silver is for....
    sunkan

Last edited: Oct 22, 2007
  3. Shanvy

but how do you do lalitha sahasranamam archanai with 108 mottus. you can only do ashtotrams...?? because i too use silver lotus miniatures..for ..lakshmi..would be really useful if i can also get more details....

4. latamurali

Dearmost madam

Thank u very much for the inforamtion and for sharing it

Actually, iam in confusion, what to gift my husband for his birthday, now , after reading ur post, i decided to get him Velli Thatu(SILVER PLATE,SPOON AND TUMBLER) for his use

latamurali

5. ridgemma

ridgemma Gold IL'ite

Hi Lata
    Me too gifted silver plate to my FIL on his b'day. Was told eating in silver plate ensures longevity and well being. Good Idea !!!

6. ridgemma

ridgemma Gold IL'ite

I was a givena a xerox of 108 most important namas of Sri Lalitha from Lalitha sahasranamam. Will scan and publish shortly

7. latamurali

Hai ridgemma

Even i want that 108 names pls publish soon

Thankk u very much

latamurali

8. ridgemma

ridgemma Gold IL'ite

Dear friends

Please find attached copy of 108 divya namas of Lalithambal compiled by Sri Sri Bharathi Theertha Maha Swamigal. Sorry for the delay.........

Last edited: Jun 6, 2008
  9. shravanthika

shravanthika Senior IL'ite

Hi Ridgemma,

Thanx for posting the imp 100..
    I recently started LS and this is really useful when I dont have time to chant all...

Hats off to your SHARING...

10. Sriniketan

Thanks Sunkan for this information on silver items.
    When on my trip to India my mother gave me the silver tumbler to be used daily either or drinking water, milk, etc as she read somewhere that it cures eye problems.