The World of Choclates

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Jun 19, 2010.

The World of Choclates

Pushpa arrived today from Mumbai, after her two month Stint with a company. The job was good, hard, and fun for her. She has received her two cheques for the work done , and she is over the moon. We are so happy to see the cheques, her first earnings ever.

What do parents feel when their child earns his or her first pay cheque ? We were very very happy that day.That the sapling has gone from diapers to a full fledged Tree, now on her own feet, the protective covers coming off, and roots getting deeper and stronger.

Tomm we put the cheques in her account after making photocopies of them, for these are precious. I am not that rich enough to frame the original cheques, as Pran had done , when Raj Kapoor gave him a cheque for Bobby for Rs. 1,11,000 which he found very less , and which Pran framed and kept, as I read in some magazine then.

The flat available then for 1 lakh in the early seventies is worth 3 crores today !!!

Pushpa pestered us from Mumbai , that I want to buy u both some gifts from my first salary, I told her, we want nothing, but well she bought a shirt for me, a purse for her mama, and then for me, lots of chocolates, which took me back to those days of the seventies.

I have a craving for sweets, I just love chocolates.And after lunch, I need a small Cadbury 5/- Diarly milk one .I am a simple man, and 5 bucks take me to heaven. And I have around 7 cups of tea everyday, with the normal sugar. Harsha is after my life, to cut down on this or that. So when I gave in, for a few days I did not have sugar in my tea, and no chocolates. While walking in the Garden, my Doctor friend asked me , kamal why are u so quiet and listless today, and when I told him about this, he said, I will speak to yr wife, Sweets don’t cause Diabeties, but if u have diabeties, then sweets are taboo for u.

So till then have a ball, and immediately I started to eat sugar and chocolates. Chocs are the best thing that man has invented. I just love them in any form.Andi can eat any quantity, but I control myself, when imported chocolates come, I just gobble them up fast. No wonder I talk sweet, so to those who talk rough and crude, gift them chocolates, to change their behaviour.

Have u tried the whiskey chocolates, the imported ones that have whiskey, vodka inside? We must have been around 10 or so, when we got to eat those, my uncles used to bring them from abroad, and now u know how I got a taste for liquor ! And those oval ones from a tin , which had a nut coated with choclate, and I don’t find them anymore.

In the nineties when I went to spain, for business, my buyer had a travel agent who could allow us anyweight on a particular airline, so we would book our tickets from here on that one.You were allowed 20 kgs, but he could allow us upto 60 and above, without paying anything. And I would go and shop for chocolates from the supermarkets there.

And the packing is so good, that I fall for them. One bar had 5 flavours and I would pick up all 5, and in the end I would end up buying at least 20 kgs of chocolates, half of which I would give my nephew and neice in Mumbai, and the rest came over to jaipur.And it was just great to see my daughters face when I would open the bags, and see their excitement, and I would make them part with a few to the maids, and to my staff upstair, which they would do reluctantly. And within a month all the 10 kgs were polished off, 2 kgs me, and the rest by the kids. And u had to see harsha’s face, the glare, but that was nothing to seeing my daughter’s face, u can imagine .

In the sixties we had Ravalgoan Toffees , named after a village in Maharashtra I think from where they started. Eclairs are the expensive ones, but good. Someone I know here in Jaipur has minted money from making local toffees, and I get those for the kids who come and play with Tuffy and Bingo in the evenings, they are 90 a kg, and I have kept them in a bottle in my office, and I too steal a few every evening. They are equally good.

I just checked the net, and Lindt, and other Swiss chocolates are almost 2000 to 3000 per kg, too expensive really, at least for me. So the local variety is good for my tongue, and pocket, When I die and go up, God will not ask me which brand of chocolates u ate, to qualify for heaven or hell, so what the hell, when Indian chocs give me the same satisfaction, why go for the imported ones, unless my cousins get them for me for free.

I have told them, it is either Whiskey or chocolates, so ones that have turned veg , as is the fad these days, they bring chocolates.!!!

Then we had the Tobler, in the sixties , which every guest would bring for us from abroad, but which I don’t see these days. Germany has some great ones, as does Spain but I think they are mostly Swiss chocolates.

Harsha thinks there are nonveg chocolates too, for she checks the backside, not mine but of the chocos wrappers , to see if they have egg, and if so, she leaves them for me !!! And I make it a point to see it myself and I tell her don’t eat, for I need more for myself. She likes Kit Kat most.

I sued to dream about chocolates when I was young, drool over them for money was short. And as they showed in that movie “ Willie Wonka and the Choclate Factory, the buy jumping in the choclate tank, to swim, and eating and licking chocolates, houses made of chocolates, I would dream and dream.

God , keep diabeties away from me, dear friend, if u want me to be as sweet as ever. And given a choice between a choclate and a Rakhee Sawant, u know what I will go in for !!!

An idea can change your life,
    But a woman can change your idea,
    So always change women to get new ideas !!!

Wife – Do u see that Drunkard opposite our house
    Ten years back I had refused to marry him
    Husband – Wow, such a long celelbration !!!

2. Arunarc

Dear Kamalji
    Congrats to Pushpa for her new job and Congrats to you too becoz DD started earning and getting cheques home so I can understand how happy you might be feeling.
    Enjoyed your chocolate stories.
    I prefer to give you chocolates as are much cheaper then Rakhee Sawant......hahahaha

3. Kamalji

Dear Aruna,

Yes we ar so happy with Pushpa's first earnings.god bless her.

Well the nedt time, i come over to yr place, all u need to please me , as a host, is a cup of tea or coffee, papad if u have at home, and a few peices of choclates.:biglaughWhat say !

and why dont i see any of yr blogs here? Dont the spinx telll u stories in yr sleep ?:drowning

4. Balajee

Kamalji, chocolates are of course better than Rakhi. They don't indulge in controversies, they don't ditch you, and try to stay in limelight hook or crook.Rakhi could not be described as sweet. She is hot 'n' spicy.At times too hot to handle. Harsha will not create problems about chocolates unless you are a diabetic or if she is concerned about your weight but she will really explode like a volcano over Rakhi!. No saut-saut dialogue here!

5. radsahana

radsahana Silver IL'ite

dear kamalji

Congratulations to Pushpa for her first paycheck. Indeed it is a great moment for both of you. I can understand the importance of first paycheck.

Chocolates hmmmmmm yummy everyones favourite. So you have tasted chocolates of all countries.

I also like chocolates, but i am conscious of my weight, since i put on weight fast, so i dont indulge much, once in a while i ate.

Inspite of eating kgs of chocolates, u dont seems to have gone out of shape, lucky you!!!!!!!!!!!!

have a gr8 day.

6. Sabitha_K

Sabitha_K Gold IL'ite

Dearest Kamalji.

Congrats on Pushpa's achievement.I wish her all the best in all future endeavours.

Kamalji , I always nod my head in unison at all your posts BUT finally the day has come where you stumped me.I love to shop, buy chocolates and gift them but do not really enjoy eating them.I DO eat occasionally but do not relish.I find all chocs too sweet or bitter.I prefer tangy flavour when it comes to food :crazy.

Enjoyed reading your chocolate saga and how it has segued seemlessly with every passing decade.Beautiful narration !

Kamalji, you are a very simple person to please.If you come down to London anytime there might not be any fried papad, chocs, tea at my place but I would treat you with my Hyderabadi Chicken Biryani :cheers

7. ALPA

ALPA Platinum IL'ite

Dear kamalji,

Congrats to Pushpa on her new job.

UMMMM talking of chocolates especially my favourite chos you talked about LINDT i love them a lot due to my travelling i always take Emirates so at the airport i shop fr the LINDT chocs i love them a lot and i might surprise you in Jaipur with LINDT CHOCS and gift them to you, thats my promise to you
    If i do not come my brother will deliver it to you.
    Right now am having Toblorone miniature chocs, love them alot, i love my chocolates need to have it everyday after my meal.

alpa:cheers

8. ojaantrik

ojaantrik IL Hall of Fame

I love chocolates too. All kinds, even the ones filled with alcohol. But I seen foreign brands being sold in Spensers retail stores. Almost all the kinds I saw abroad. Well, may be not all the kinds. Certainly not the Swiss variety.

Come to think of it I don't like chocolates all the time. Sometimes you can make me stand before a mountain made of chocolate and I wouldn't touch it. At others I would get up in the middle of the night just to eat a chocolate. Crazy, am I not?

May be I am close to giving up sweets. Reminds me of the struggle I went through to give up cigarettes. I guess I can give up pretty much anything now, except for the computer gadgets I have accumulated. They are the toys I am addicted to. Even the young man who supplies me these things warns me sometimes that I should not spend so much on computers.

I don't think I can spend time with a beautiful woman if I see a beautiful computer lying around. Yes, I have finally found the reason why women hate me so much. Anyday I will leave a woman if you give me a sleek computer. No man needs to worry that I shall pursue his wife. He merely needs to lure me away with a computer.

I know now what present I shall bring you if we ever meet. Boxes full of exotic chocolates.

Liked the first joke. I assure you that if you changed the word woman with the word computer, the joke would cease to be a joke. I know how each new computer I bought changed my ideas. :)

oj

9. Sriniketan

Pass on my congrats to Pushpa!
    Can see the enjoyment in both of you, with this post on chocolates.

My dh and me are like Harsha..will read the labels before we buy.
    If at all any eggs or egg whites are present...earlier my dh used to throw them out (those days he did not read the labels :biglaugh), but nowadays, I tell him, it is ok for us not to eat those, but why not the children eat it!. If they don't want it..let them not eat it later in their life..let them enjoy now.
    He accepted it half-heartedly..(see the 1st joke goes with this na! :))

I like chocolates too...but will not have it on my fasting days..( I don't know how I am able to resist on those days..:bonk)

Dear Balaji,

thanks u agreed with me on Rakhee Sawant.She will sue me , if she reads this blog, for her market will go down.HAHA

Well touch wood, i am sugar normal, not diabetic, and we have a fellow , whocmes once a fortnight,lays his table outside the garden, and for 25/- checks ur BP and sugar, and my levels aer normal lime 90 and 120.

Thanks.kamal