Want Inputs About Software Testing Job

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by Needtobestrong, Aug 30, 2017.

1. Needtobestrong

Needtobestrong Platinum IL'ite

I'm on maternity break , looking for options to restart career..
    Want to mention I'm settled in India, and the city where I stay has many IT companies and tech parks...
    Would prefer working when baby is one year plus.
    Many people suggested that I try for software testing job as they feel it's suitable for ladies and would give stability....
    There are many institutes offering manual and automation testing course for 1-2 hrs duration in my area, was thinking of enrolling during free time..
    I m having few confusions..
    1. I have some basic knowledge of software testing, and some basic experience in unit and integration testing in my previous job..but that project was a very short duration one and I was put in different project and different roles later on and I dint get experience in testing after that...but I was interested in that work..
    Is it ok if I pursue software testing now??
    Due to career break I lost confidence..technical knowledge became totally rusty :(
    2. For childcare if I get help from family and domestic helps also then maximum 7-8 hours only they can support, I.e 9-5 like that..even play schools n day cares in my area support till 5 pm..I also have health issues and cannot strain myself too much ..so I would find it difficult to work long hours..will I be able to get 9 am - 5 pm kind of work timing in QA testing role? Suppose I need flexibility or WFH for emergencies would it be possible?
    3. I don't have great expectations, I'm ready to start out on junior role with less salary for some years..I'm not placing importance on salary n all as my priority is different..I just want work experience....will I atleast get a decent package if I start out on junior role?how are the hikes and career growth in manual tester and automation tester roles?