Statue Of Unity

Discussion in 'Interesting Shares' started by Cheeniya, Nov 8, 2018.

1. GeetaKashyap

GeetaKashyap IL Hall of Fame

@Rihana,
    I believe,
    1.Things change with times. In general, kings were autocratic. While they protected their subjects, they unilaterally decided on whatever they did. Some were good, many were bad and there were many mediocre ones who are nameless today. In those days, the main pressures were-enemy attacks and natural calamities. Both required the grace of God and God was also necessary to keep subjects (people) together. Beyond that, depending on the talent pool and personal interest, large architectural Marvels that withstood the onslaught of times were constructed.

Interestingly, when we studied History at school, we learnt that every good king had more or less the same list of achievements: built temples, ponds, resting places for pilgrims and so on.:)

2.3. Science and scientific achievements are encouraged to quench the thirst of the intellectuals with scientific temperments, to retain talent and reduce brain-drain, to be on par with the developed countries, to make gains with newer discoveries and technologies. Parents provide for all the kids. Out of them, if even one has a special talent, parents do try to satisfy that special requirement also by making some adjustments here and there. One single formula cannot satisfy all the kids.

Hasn't our country already lost so any brilliant brains like you to the USA?

4. There has to be some balancing.
    Eg: Roti, kapda aur makaan are the basics. A householder focusses all his energies here. But when the roof starts leaking, he has to divert funds to it's repair. When children need an essential hobby class or an educational tour for their overall devt, he has to again divert funds there. Sometimes this juggling may mean some shortage in food and clothing. But as a family it is taken into one's stride. But how will the family react if the father decides to somehow fulfill his fancy of having a BMW car in front of his dilapidated house?

To score political mileage, Mayavati installs marble elephants all over UP, Congress names every damn thing after It's family and amasses wealth and BJP, not wanting to miss this opportunity, creates a colossal statue and registers it as its achievement. Ultimately all are seeking self glorification like the kings of yore. I guess we are in the 21st century and we are the biggest democracy in the world!
    5. Asian games, Mangalayan, Antarctic expeditions, defense shows...::

"Bhala uske shirt mere shirt se safed kaise?" "Neighbours' envy, owner's pride"...ting-tong! Rihana, do you remember these taglines of popular old advertisements?

Dikhawa karna padta hai!
    Beg-borrow- steal Karke shaadi karna padta hai!
    Political statements in the international arena are a must; loan leke bhi dhoomdhaam se shaadi Karne jaise! Relations mein status dikhana zaroori hain and it has its own plusses (& minuses) !

I guess I covered all your points. :banana:

(Uff! Ungli bahut dukh raha hai, "Benge" ointment parcel kardena, please!)

Last edited: Nov 11, 2018
  2. Mistt

Mistt IL Hall of Fame

Wow! Geeta. :clap2::worship2:

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  3. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

Here is another opinion-share on the Statue of U..

Opinion | A better life outside India

An excerpt
    (the emigrated at 17 m or even 10 m, seem rather high):
    In New India, unity hides in a cast-iron statue, its syncretic history compressed in a structure that’s only 183m tall. From dystopian bovine-related lynchings and other targeted hate crimes to air pollution—that murderous equalizer that doesn’t care about your religion, caste, gender, economic background or political affiliation—there are an increasing number of threats your privilege can’t protect you from. Jobs are scarce, and the incidence of cancer is rising alarmingly.

It’s no wonder that 17 million people opted out of India just last year—and this during a time when the migration of our unskilled workers fell by 25%, according to the Asian Development Bank’s Asian Economic Integration Report 2018. We topped the list of people leaving their countries—China was a distant second at around 10 million.
    .......a young child who has a one in two chance of encountering sexual abuse. It’s no wonder people are saying bye.​