Share your Ugadi / Gudi Padwa Festival Foods here

Discussion in 'Recipe Central' started by Magee, Mar 14, 2015.

1. indubalram

indubalram IL Hall of Fame

2. Lathasv

Lathasv IL Hall of Fame

Wish you all a very happy Ugadi and a great year ahead!
    Thank You@ Magee for including me in Tag list.Today We are celebrating Ugadi. just Now I finished My pooja. I prepared Ugadi pachadi ( mix of tamarind, jaggery, neem leaves, pepper , Mango and salt). bobbatlu, split moong dal Vada, mango pulihora, Potato fry, Methi dal.
    here I'm sharing Pics. View attachment 217526
    View attachment 217528
    View attachment 217527

9 people like this.
  3. radv

radv Gold IL'ite

image.jpg image.jpg
    Happy New Year. Happy Cheti Chand

I have prepared Tahiri and Palak

having a bit hectic day today.
    will post recipes in a couple of days.

4. rkgurbani

rkgurbani IL Hall of Fame

Dear IndusLadies....

First of all, best wishes for the New Year. In different states and communities, it is called differently...
    Ugadi, Gudi Padhwa, Chetti Chand, Vishu, Navreh, Poila Baishakh, Sajibu Nongapamba....the names are many but the flavor is same.

Chetti Chand is celebrated by the Sindhis of India and Pakistan as the New Year to mark the birth anniversary of Jhulelal. It falls on the first New Moon day of the month of Chaitra in the Hindu Lunar calendar also marking the start of Chaitra Navratri.
    Jhulelal is considered to be the re-incarnation of Lord Varun (God of Water).
    Water has a special significance for Sindhis because centuries ago Sindhi merchants used to travel by ship with their cargo to far lands. The women folk would pray to Lord Varun for the safety of their men folk.
    Jhulelal descended on earth to help the Hindus in Sindh to preserve their culture and heritage against the oppressive onslaught of the Muslim Kings.
    Jhulelal means "Jewel of the Cradle".

On this day, we make Tehri...which is a yellow coloured sweet rice preparation. It is served with Sai Bhaaji...which is Palak cooked with various vegetables and channa dal. Fried potatoes is the best accompaniment to this.
    As prasadam, we make Kanaav. This can also be called as wheat flour halwa and served with boiled and salted black-eye-beans.

Sharing with you all our Chetti Chand celebration.
    LET THIS BE A DELIGHTFUL YEAR FILLED WITH DELIGHTFUL THINGS IN EACH OF ITS DAYS.

5. g3sudha

g3sudha IL Hall of Fame

thanks for sharing the picture of tehri
    kindly post the receipes pls

6. radv

radv Gold IL'ite

Here is my recipe for Tahiri

ingredients rerequired

one cup rice
    3/4 cup sugar
    4 tbl spn ghee
    nuts, spices, saffron as shown here
    image.jpg

Now wash rice. Heat ghee in a pot and keep on medium flame. Add spices and sauté for five seconds. Then add rice, mix well and add three cups water. Increase flame and let rice cook (pot not fully covered). When water is almost absorbed, add sugar and saffron (mixed in little warm milk). Add a cup of water, mix well and let it cook. When water is almost absorbed, only few bubbles appear on surface, add chopped nuts + seeds, mix well and cover pot, reduce flame to sim and let rice sim for 5-7 minutes. Tahiri is ready.
    image.jpg

7. radv

radv Gold IL'ite

To make Sindhi Palak, here is recipe

Ingredients required

1 bunch Palak
    1/2 bunch Methi leaves
    3 tbl spoon Chana dal (pre-soaked)
    Mix vegetables like potato, carrot, yam, peas
    1 small onion, chopped
    1 tbl spoon ginger+garlic paste
    2 large tomatoes, puréed

Heat 2 tbl spn oil in a pressure cooked
    Add onion, sauté till translucent
    Add ginger-garlic paste, sauté till raw smell is gone
    Now add channa dal, mixed vegetables and methi leaves, sauté for a while
    View attachment 217586

Now add chopped palak, mix well and cook for a while till moisture is absorbed.

image.jpg

Add puréed tomato, mix well

image.jpg

Now add ground masala like turmeric, red cilli powder and salt, mix and add cupful of water,
    image.jpg

Cover and cook on medium heat to 4-5 whistles.

remove from fire and let it stand for a while till steam is released. Open the lid and mix Palak with a whisk. Now is is ready to serve with Tahiri.

You can also relish it with plain rice or roti.
    image.jpg

8. radv

radv Gold IL'ite

nicely said as well presented complete with black eye bean prasad. Wow.

9. VaniVyas

VaniVyas Platinum IL'ite

@radv

Good recipes and well explained with pictures.

Thanks. These recipes were new for me.

10. Magee

Magee Moderator Staff Member Platinum IL'ite

Thank you @radv