Question regarding provera 10 mg

Discussion in 'Fertility & Trying to Conceive' started by geeta26, Sep 3, 2009.

1. geeta26

geeta26 New IL'ite

Hi ladies,

I am new to the this community.I am in TTC since 3 months.My Periods are usually regular.But this time my period is delayed.I thought i was pregnant but all the tests at home are negative and i saw the gyn, she had done blood tests and said i am not pregnant.She asked me to take pills Provera 10 mg to get my period.But i am little concerned to take pills for getting periods.
    Would there be any side effects with the pills??.Actually i wanted to get them normal see for few days coz i didn't have this long delay in periods before.

so plz help i am confused..any one in the same boat...

Thanks,
    Geeta

2. skalluri

skalluri Gold IL'ite

when usually periods are regular, I would wait for some more time to give body time to adjust itself back to rythm. Provera is progesterone supplement when used for certain period (as told by Dr. , 10 days, or 14 days continously) and stopped, then the levels of pregesterone will slowly come down in body and body thinks it is time to shed the uterine lining and thus gets periods(this is what happens in body on regular monthly basis).

nothing wrong in using them when you still see problem in regularity. as far as I remember(I also used them in my early 20s) I didn't see any side effects. try to eat sprouts int the breakfast time, it has lot of protien and good fats and fibre to produce hormones naturally in body.

Sujatha.

3. geeta26

geeta26 New IL'ite

Thanks sujatha for ur suggestion.
    If u take provera now when u can expect ur next period?like after a week again or same day of next month u can expect period? how does it work?

Geeta.

4. manjulats

manjulats Silver IL'ite