Ladies A Poll Which Is Of Our Interest

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by AngelNew, Apr 21, 2017.

How do Ladies Feel?

1. The said percentage is enough

37.5%
  2. The said percentage is too high In your opinion

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. It is too little it should be more

62.5%
  1. AngelNew

AngelNew Bronze IL'ite

In a latest decided case by our Honorable Supreme Court it has been said that a benchmark of 25% of the salary of your ex-husband is enough for our maintenance or permanent alimony and it is sufficient for a woman to live a dignified life after separating from her husband and it also includes the amount given for child maintenance. I want to know how the ladies feel about this as in a general point of view on this point

PS: In my opinion it is a little less percentage of the husband salary that is required for the maintenance and all in the current situation of our economy

2. WiseAgnes

WiseAgnes Gold IL'ite

Hard to say. "25% of the salary of your ex-husband" is way too general if you don't know his salary
    But if your ex is a billionaire, you should be fine :tearsofjoy:

AngelNew, Amica and Ragavisang like this.
  3. BhumiBabe

BhumiBabe Platinum IL'ite

This is ridiculous, if it includes child support. While I don't think a permanent alimony is absolutely required, 25% support is too little to maintain a "dignified" lifestyle, without the support of family. Not all women have that. This ruling actually benefits men, because it seems like their costs will be less without having to take care of a family - less food, transportation, maid, gifts, etc. The court should take in account of all factors, before making a blanket ruling for all cases. Is this the same, for fault divorce?

4. Rihana

Depends on the salary. The aim is to ensure the woman gets enough money to maintain a lifestyle comparable to the one she had when married. Not sure how setting a percentage as guideline helps. But then Supreme Court observations and comments do not always make sense. In news articles about this 25% being enough, there is also mention of a case where the man was required to pay maintenance to his wife though the divorce was issued on grounds of desertion by her!

I voted said percentage should be a little higher. Though, it would depend on the actual figure of the man's income.

5. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

It's silly to make a blanket judgement like this. The situation will be vastly different if your ex is Bill Gates vs. Aam Aadmi.
    However if the man has a modest income he may not be able to provide more than 25% without damaging his own financial life. In that case the woman may have no choice but to seek employment of her own. It is a fact that divorce often reduces the standard of living for people of average means.

6. ashneys

ashneys Platinum IL'ite

25% - not enuf until unless d ex spouse earns atleast a few lakhs. School's, rent, maid salary, groceries, eb/ phone/tv bills, everything has gotten expensive. For example, If the wife lived with a 1lakh rs salaried hubby, two kids at good school, tuition/ sports class, apartment life in chennai, part time maid. How can she n d kids manage all that in the same standard with 25k?

7. Amica

Amica IL Hall of Fame

How much is enough? It depends on their respective incomes.

The 25% he pays her leaves him to manage his own expenses on 75% of his income. Meanwhile, she manages her life and her children's expenses on 25% of his income plus 100% of her own income.

In these days of gender equality, if he/his parents have custody of the kids, she would have to pay him 25% of her salary. It might not be easy for her to survive on 75% of her income either.

8. AngelNew

AngelNew Bronze IL'ite

Thanks for the reply dear the answer to your question is that during the proceeding you are required to furnish all the document which you have before the court and if you do not do the court will ask the other departments to give the document if the husband does not provide so you will get a brief idea about his income

WiseAgnes likes this.
  9. AngelNew

AngelNew Bronze IL'ite

Dear I also of the same view but the court in the matter also said that the determination of such amount will be in regards to fact and situation as always

10. AngelNew

AngelNew Bronze IL'ite

Thanks Maam for the reply but the case in which the court deiced his income was around 1 lac RS and he also remarried so it was reduced to 20% and yeah they give some weird judgment and hard to understand for general public and confusing :confused::confused::confused: even I did not understood fully