Is anybody a elementary school teacher in US?

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by Sansub, Feb 23, 2012.

1. Sansub

Sansub Bronze IL'ite

Hi ladies!!!

Is anybody working as elementary school teacher here is US? I am in Virginia. I wanted to know the procedure for becoming a school teacher. Do I have to go to college to be qualified? Can anybody who has experience throw some light on it?

Any inputs are welcome...

2. srims

srims Bronze IL'ite

I am not a teacher,but i am also trying to get a teaching job in US.
    As far as I know, to become a teacher in US,we need to follow the rules of the state we intend to work.If you earned a degree in other country,then it should be evaluated with WES or AACRAO to prove the equivalency with the USA degree.This evaluation is a must for all the states to get a certification.If your degree is in education,it is easy to get the certification.If not,some more options are there for getting certification.
    I earned a degree in education and having some years of teaching experience (in India). Now started the certification process in US.
    If you have any further details let us share.
    All the best!!!!!!!!!

3. teacher

teacher Platinum IL'ite

Once your Indian degree is evaluated to its US equivalency, they will tell you how many credits you need under different subjects...you will have to do some courses in teaching reading....that is compulsory for teachers of all subjects. with the requirements under no child left behind your certification will also depend on your bachelor's degree. A lot of people work as TAs in schools and get their certification courses...the school district pays for the required coursework, one course per semester. That may have changed with the economic crunch but if your schedule permits you can do that and get hands on experience in the classroom before you go on to become a full fledged teacher. Good luck.

2 people like this.
  4. srims

srims Bronze IL'ite

Teacher,