1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Gender-based roles - does it float your boat?

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by SSC, Oct 21, 2011.

1. SSC

SSC Platinum IL'ite

I've been wanting to bring up this topic for quite sometime now. I have been brought up to not believe in gender-based roles !! I've been independent, away from home and self-sufficient, and so does my partner (in my case, my BF). We do not have any gender-specific roles when we plan to do something. We both do whatever we are good at. I'm a better driver, so I drive. I'm a good veggie cook, whereas he being a staunch non-vegetarian, is a better non-veg cook!! I love sports, he loves gaming. I love to do activities, and he loves to socialize and host/attend parties. In short, both of us cook, both of us do dishes, both of us work, both of us have a good circle of friends and both of us are independent.

There have been a few posts here, that says, "Oh men will be men" or "All men/ all women are like that", and many other generalizations. I believe all generalizations are false, there are exceptions to every rule.

So, my question is, Do you have gender-specific roles between you and your partner? I'm looking to have some healthy discussions and like to know, if there are households that still run on gender-specific roles? If they do, then what does the woman in such relationships think about it.

2. Saumyamom

Saumyamom Silver IL'ite

Well ,i am being thrust with gender specific roles telling that if there were none I would have gotten married to a male ..Unless I am sick ,tired or back breakingly loaded with work I can expect no help

3. justanothergirl

justanothergirl IL Hall of Fame

Ah SSC ...I can remember months ago when I joined the IL I was going