1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone took marriage counselling in USA?

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by klniha, Dec 3, 2012.

1. klniha

klniha Bronze IL'ite

Hi,

I and my husband have a tough time with fights and arguments that run into verbal abuses on each other and each other's families. We are both open for marriage counselling before we decide on divorce as last option. We have a kid. Now my only dilemma is do these US doctors understand the Indian setup of inlaws involvement in marriages? We stay in Houston, Texas. I am not comfortable to go to an Indian therapist. I am a doctor myself but no knowledge on this marriage therapy side.

Pls share your experiences if you have been to an American therapist. Did it help? Did they understand your typical Indian woes of inlaws interfering etc etc.

Thanks

2. beanstalk

beanstalk Gold IL'ite

Dear op,
    I can't say I have but two couples who are close to us have. They are based in difeerent city though. I think counselling definitely helps. In both the cases, husbands were the ones who initiated the idea of counselling.
    For one of the couples, they identified that wife had a behavioral problem and after a few sessions, they were told that the counsellor does not see any improvements in future. He also advised them not to have kids since it was definite that in future the severe disconnect, anger and frustation will be passed to the children. The couple moved and tried counseling in different places for alomst ten years. All counsellors more or less said exactly the smae thing. The couple are divorced now. They had american as well as Indian therapists. Dont worry about having Indian therapist. Infact, i think indian therapist may have a better understanding of Indian family dynamics. The pressure that indian couples take from parents is far more than Americans.