Anyone learning Japanese?

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by tanoshii, Jan 23, 2012.

1. tanoshii

tanoshii Platinum IL'ite

Hello Ladies,
    I was wondering if anyone in the forum is currently learning Japanese.
    We lived in Tokyo for a while and its been 3 years since I stopped with the language learning. Now I am trying to get back at it and just need a little more push with it. If anyone else is studying basic level Japanese and you'd like some company with it I'm all in.

Right now I'm studying via correspondence from Kumon. FYI the fee is just a little extra as compared to going to the class directly. Its the postage alone that is charged extra. And if you can read and write already, this is really good cos its Native school portion that you learn and no the same old Konnichiwa and Hajimema****e that you learn as a tourist/visitor.

2. nandi

nandi Senior IL'ite

Dear Ms Tanoshi
    i am interested in learning japanese language. i did a short term course in japanese in the university here in kochi. almost some years ago. now i have almost forgotten . my problem was also that i couldnot practise and needed some motivation.i can read and write hiragana so how do you do this correspondence study ? can we interact?
    thankyou
    best regards
    nanda

3. tanoshii

tanoshii Platinum IL'ite

Hi Nandi,

Happy to see someone respond. since you already do know the script, you can call Kumon in India. Kumon India for more info.
    They have branches all over the world. They usually teach Maths and English but Japanese is also available in a few centres. If its not possible to find a centre near you, you can opt for correspondence, which after trying seems a lot easier for me now.

There are usually other places too where you can start learning the language.

And yeah, I would like to keep in touch. I'll PM you my contact details. It would be good if I had someone to study with.

4. nandi

nandi Senior IL'ite

Dear Tanoshisan