1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Aai ( Mother)

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by satchitananda, Jan 26, 2019.

1. satchitananda

satchitananda IL Hall of Fame

I spend a lot of time at home. Most of that time is spent alone. Not feeling lonely even when alone is something one has to work at actively. I try my best to keep my mind occupied. That involves a little bit of work, some reading and watching a lot of films and documentaries.

I am particularly enamoured by regional films and I am partial to Marathi cinema. Today I happened to watch a film called "astu" featuring Dr. Mohan Agashe who is a psychiatrist by profession in the main role. He is also a very well known theatre personality. In this film he plays the role of an ageing Sanskrit scholar who is afflicted by Alzheimers'.

He gets lost one day and follows a man and his elephant and ends up spending the entire day with that man and his family. The man's young wife (her acting is brilliant, to say the least) feels tremendous compassion towards this old man who does not know who he is, where he comes from, cries when he feels hungry, is otherwise happy and cannot take care of himself. The husband is scared of going to the police because he fears they might beat him up or put him behind bars. The wife decides to look after the old man like a child. The old man calls her 'aai' (mother).

Next morning the daughter of the old man and the police trace him and come to get him. The young lady tells the man's daughter 'take care him like your child. He has become God. He does not see any difference between people anymore'. That statement really hit me.