1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

World Cancer Day (Feb 4th) - Our Cancer Fighters - We'd like to read your stories!

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Laks09, Feb 2, 2015.

1. Laks09

Laks09 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

As World Cancer Day is on the 4th of February, it is only fitting that we come together and think of those among us who have been touched by this monster.

@SunNaa, our very own bubbly and cute fitness enthusiast, Manali, is my inspiration. Her story had me in tears. Until I read her snippet, I had no idea about her fights with the disease. She is such an optimistic person, so full of life and enthusiasm, I seldom see her outside of the cookery and fitness forums. Her two true passions! She is a medico by profession but so down to Earth and humble. When faced with cancer after already losing her siblings to the disease, she fought and fought real hard. She is a true hero. We can all learn the spirit of true courage and determination from her.

A recent post about who is great made me ponder about the meaning of the term "great". Doesn't greatness exude from women like Manali, who even when faced with insurmountable grief and loss, battling the disease herself, is still stopping to live life to the fullest?

@SunNaa - I don't think I can give your story full justice, please stop by with your inputs.

Dear ILites,

Have you or a family member fought the disease? We would like to hear from all of you. Please share your stories here. Be an inspiration for those struggling to fight!!

9 people like this.

2. Kamalji

Kamalji IL Hall of Fame

Dear Laks,

i am a cancer survivor, and i have shared my story here. its been 3 years, and it is a second lease of life to me.

i feel the cancer patient/ survivor has to be in a positive and cheerful frame of mind. The cancer surgeon and the chemotherapy doc at Tata, told me, that the after effects of cancer are less on cheerful guys.