1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Will You Be My Valentine?

Discussion in 'Wednesdays with Varalotti' started by varalotti, Feb 14, 2008.

1. varalotti

varalotti IL Hall of Fame

Will You Be My Valentine?

I may not be brilliant; at the same time I am not that dumb to risk this question before 15000 gracious, well-meaning women (of which my wife is one) on this Valentine’s day.

Before the wonderful moderators place their hands on the mouse to issue infraction and before the ladies figuratively take off their high-heeled shoes “to teach Varalotti a lesson” , let me just say in my defence, that this is not a statement of flirtation.

It is arising out of a kind concern, or rather anxiety that you should not miss something important in your lives. Not being a marketing expert I know only this kind of cheap tricks to grab your attention.

“What the hell are you talking about, Varalotti?” I hear you say.

“Drop whatever you are doing now. Go get the book The Witch Of Portobello By Paulo Coelho. And start reading it. Right Now.”

In another way it is very apt to write about this book on Valentine’s day. This book is all about love. But not the love that is exhibited in parks and beaches, not the love that is manifested through Archies cards or much more colourful e-Cards, not the love that is “supposed to be there” between husbands and wives.

Not even the love between us and God, in the way we have perceived for so long. We love God in the same way we may love the Alladin’s lamp, if we have one. We’ll protect the lamp, preserve it, venerate it and even worship it, so long as it gives us whatever we ask for.